AA Cars uses cookies. If you use our site, we'll assume you are happy with this.

Add your postcode for better results
Examples: ford fiesta or mercedes c class diesel automatic

Chrysler PT Cruiser Reviews

Chrysler PT Cruiser

Welcome to the Chrysler PT Cruiser review page, as you can see this page provides you with all our user generated reviews of Chrysler PT Cruiser cars. AA Cars provide our users with the best feedback on all car makes and models all across the uk to give you the best possible information, to help you make your decision when buying a new used car. We break each vehicle review down into five categories (preformance, running cost, comfort, reliability and space practicality) making it very easy to understand, giving you feedback directly form the vehicle owner. This provides you with all the information you need to make the decision of which car is perfect for you.

Write Review

Key Facts

New Price
-
AA Cars Average
£1,436
MPG
26.2 - 42.2
CO2 (g/km)
177 - 256
Tax Band
I - M
Noise Level
72.0 - 75.0

Chrysler PT Cruiser | Style and Substance

Added: 16th of October 2016
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2002
  • 2200cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 5

The Pt Cruiser is a marmite car but if you like it, it has such a range of quality features that are now very inexpensive to have if you pick the diesel model with the Mercedes turbo engine. Such a shame they are not made new any more but still possible to find low mileage examples if you are patient and prepared to travel. The convertible version though is a dogs breakfast and I wouldn't go for a petrol model and the facelift model looses it's impact with a smaller front grill and more messy front headlight pod. One other negative is the suspension which seems a bit fragile with replacement parts often needed but that aside it is pretty trouble free and starts first time even in the depths of winter.

Chrysler PT Cruiser | Pt Cruizer

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2001
  • 1996cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

Excellent car all round. If you can afford the fuel it won't let you down. Droplinks are a design fault and can be modified to use engine grade bolts instead of the standard bolts which always seem to snap once you hit a large pothole.the bolt size is 10 mm reduced to a 6mm thread which in my opinion is bad practice and should be reduced to no less than 8mm at a push.known overheating problems and easily bypassed to add a switch inside the cab to manually turn on cooling fan. Once you get to know your car and address the little issues you will end up with a more than respectable car rust free still and very reliable on starting.

Chrysler PT Cruiser | You like it or dislike it

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2001
  • 1966cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 4

This car is a good looker and feels the part but no longer manufactured which is a shame.Its an automatic and expensive to run and as Chrysler is owned by Fiat the parts are very costly as the dealers really up the prices. So if you can find alocal garage its a lot cheaper as i have found.The car is very solid and very comfortable some like them some dont ido.

Chrysler PT Cruiser | My PT Cruiser

Added: 14th of October 2016
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2001
  • 1996cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • People Carrier
  • 4

I bought this car as I wanted one with character instead of looking like everything else, also comfort as I was about o have a hip operation and so wanted something I could get into and out of easily. In addition to this I was, and still am, impressed with the space and height for passengers in the back seat and the excellent storage space in the boot.

Chrysler PT Cruiser | PT Cruiser.

Added: 12th of October 2016
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 2007
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 5

Lots of little niggles from new. Battery is expensive, difficult to get at (it lives under the seat) and doesn't last long.

Various dashboard lights come on intermittently for no reason. Engine management light has come on a couple of times and the car gone into limp mode - this is cured by removing the filler cap, cleaning and replacing it!

Chrysler PT Cruiser | l cook leven

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
1/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2007
  • 2200cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Saloon
  • 4

EACH year suspension cups crack and have to be replaced at a cost of £250 chrysler know of this fault but will not do anything about it my chryler goes for aservice this thursday and already been told it will want the cups replaced this will be the third time at acost of £750 no more chryslers for me

Chrysler PT Cruiser | PT Cruiser

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2005
  • 2197cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 5

I've been on a number of long distance trips in my PT Cruiser and it has been fantastic on motorways, small roads and just around town. I've never had a mechanical fault and the diesel consumption is pretty fair.

The only downside for me personally is the MASSIVE turning circle.

Chrysler PT Cruiser | PT Cruiser

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
1/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2002
  • 1995cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

A very well built car with plenty of adaptability parts built in for the adventurer.
The removable seats are very heavy which lends to the high fuel consumption. A Head turner to say the least.

Chrysler PT Cruiser | PT Cruiser

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
2/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
2/5
Space Practicality
1/5
  • 2007
  • 2200cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • People Carrier
  • 5

Has a distinctive character. Safe, but boring to drive.

Many niggles since new.

I used to drive old cars (classics); knowing what I know now I wished I'd stuck with them.

Chrysler PT Cruiser | personal view

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
1/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2002
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

A very practical car hwever, it is very heavy on fuel which is its only let down.
Definitely a head turner with its retro style.

Chrysler PT Cruiser | turn for the worse

Added: 17th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2000
  • 2000cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Saloon
  • 4

My only gripe with the PT cruiser is the huge turning circle

Chrysler PT Cruiser | PT Cruiser

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
2/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2000
  • 2000cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Saloon
  • 4

It's a cool design