Examples: ford fiesta or mercedes c class diesel automatic

BMW X5 Reviews

Useful links:  329 Used BMW X5 in stock
BMW X5

Welcome to the BMW X5 review page, as you can see this page provides you with all our user generated reviews of BMW X5 cars. AA Cars provide our users with the best feedback on all car makes and models all across the uk to give you the best possible information, to help you make your decision when buying a new used car. We break each vehicle review down into five categories (preformance, running cost, comfort, reliability and space practicality) making it very easy to understand, giving you feedback directly form the vehicle owner. This provides you with all the information you need to make the decision of which car is perfect for you.

Write Review

Key Facts

New Price
£45,545 - £60,815
AA Cars Average
£24,264
MPG
19.0 - 38.2
CO2 (g/km)
195 - 356
Tax Band
J - M
Noise Level
71.0 - 76.0

BMW X5 | A tank with style

Added: 2nd of February 2015
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2005
  • 3000cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 5

I bought my X5 30d Sport through the trade about 2yr ago. It had one owner and FBMWSH. with just over 55k miles. It cost me £8500 without warranty, tax or fuel! It has every option barr sun roof.

At the time of writing (0215) it has covered 70k miles and has cost me very little. Two front outboard drive boots, a parking sensor and front drop link. It did need some tyres at the time of purchase and these are wearing very well, although I drive carefully and NEVER go off-road.

My only other 4X4 was an X-plate Range Rover 4.6 and the X5 is nothing like it. Forget the off-road prowess of the RR - it had covered about the same mileage but had lworn nowhere near as well.
It drank fuel like a cruise liner, returned moderate performance and was always going wrong - the list was endless.

The X5 is a heavy vehicle but it feels much lighter than its 2 tons would suggest. This is thanks, in no small way, to a superb 3 litre diesel and 6 speed auto box which is a real jewel of a combination. It provides power and torque in abundance - sufficient to give many hot hatches a tough time in the 0-60 sprint (<7s). Not only does it travel quickly in a straight line but, thanks to sports suspension, massive tyres and superb steering, it corners with ease and never feels unsettled. The only downside is a choppy ride on some unrefined roads. Drive carefully and 30mpg is easily achieved.

Everything about the X5 is 'heavy duty' except its trim and instrumentation, which is lifted straight out of a 5 series, so nothing more to add there!

I have only one criticism and it relates to the rear seat backs. These do not fold flat and so the large rear platform is compromised.

Buy one with good history and you will not have any regrets.

BMW X5 | X5 used - after 3 yrs ownership

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2008
  • 3000cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 5

Overall, an excellent car, extraordinarily well designed and built. Superb performance and handling. Extremely large - sometimes too large for country roads. Performance is outstanding - always feel safe on the road. Comfort is good to very good but difficult to get in and out (climbing up and climbing down). Ride is too disturbed and jiggly on UK roads - stiff suspension favours handling at the expense of ride. But this not so evident on trans-European driving on auto routes. Parts are expensive but X5 has been very reliable. Would buy again but would wish to have adaptive suspension. Would also wish to haver 8-speed gearbox to improve mpg (currently have 6-speed box. Compares very well with competitive cars.

BMW X5 | BMW X5 3.0D x-drive

Added: 14th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2009
  • 3000cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 5

Bought new in January 2009 and well loaded with high spec., including extra row of seats. Comfortable and reliable and for a heavy vehicle reasonably economic. Run flat tyres can be expensive to replace, but generally wear well, subject to mileage. Professional Navigation system excellent and BMW dealerships are second to none in terms of politeness and efficiency (Cooper Cobham is dealership I use). Will buy another one, but as a low mileage users, have still a year or two more before I will change to a new one.
Only replacements other than service have been tyres at around 28,000 miles, gas strut in tailgate, front discs 34,00 miles. Never had any trouble starting in any weather and looks as good as new.

BMW X5 | BMW X5

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2003
  • 2996cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • 4x4
  • 5

Have owned this vehicle for 8 years. It has been very reliable and is very comfortable on long trips. Performance is very good and fuel consumption acceptable (23mpg local, 28 on long distance). Haven't replaced it as don't like newer vehicles with more electronic rubbish like stop/start, electric handbrake, run flat tyres, don't want a diesel, like 3litre straight six petrol for its mix of performance and 'economy'. Newer petrol cars, if available, attract too much road tax. Mine has 18 inch rims so tyres are of sufficient side wall depth to give good grip in snow without resorting to winter tyres. a set of Michelins last around 30-35,000 miles.

BMW X5 | X5 Problem

Added: 19th of March 2014
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2013
  • 3000cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 5

This is my third X5 since 2004.This all new model is very comfortable especially with Comfort suspension an additional but unfortunatly they have not mastered over the rattle from the rear bumper/tailgate. It is very irritating and now going in to have it sorted within three months from new. Had similar problem with the others which eventually got sorted.Keep in mind about this problem to face when going for an X5. Also mpg is not what they no matter how careful you drive.

BMW X5 | ultimate comfort

Added: 24th of August 2015
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2004
  • 3000cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 5

nice solid clean car , i was ready to slide in and out rather than climb in, suits my needs perfectly plenty of power , all the gadgets , tv doesnt work on this year of manafacture as they switched of analog years ago so if you want digital freeview then gonna cost you about 800 quid , but hey every thing else is perfect , opps except the sat nav , works but is old style , my htc can take me anywhere in half the time of this built in one ,

BMW X5 | BMW X5 Phase 1.

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2003
  • 3000cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 5

This has to be the best car I have owned. After a few initial (small) issues it has been faultless. Dealer experience disapointingly poor, nowhere near as good as Merc. Part prices hurtfull but not needed many thankfully. Thoroughly recommended. Still makes me feel good today after 10 years and 100,000 miles.

BMW X5 | BMW X5 3.0 L Diesel Sport

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2006
  • 3000cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 5

It has proved to be extremely reliable with no breakdowns. The fuel consumption is slightly less than advertised. Has a large turning circle and not the easiest to park and manoeuvre. It feels spacious and safe whilst driving with good visibility all round. It is a quality build and pleasant to the eye.

BMW X5 | BMW X5

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2006
  • 3000cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 5

Comfort of a car with versatility of a 4x4. Great for towing my caravan and gives 25 mpg towing and over 30 mpg in general use, which in my view is very good for a 3 litre engine. Very reliable and would definitely trade it for another one when the time comes.

BMW X5 | Great motor

Added: 11th of March 2015
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2003
  • 3000cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • Estate
  • 5

Hi have just sold my landrover td5 and replaced it with the x5. Why did I have the disco so long when I could have been driving the x5 . It's done 188.000 miles and still drives like it's done 30.000 . Only had it a short time but loving it.

BMW X5 | BMW X5 3.0 D Sport

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2005
  • 3000cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 5

Car purchased second hand with 52000 miles on clock. Now 20,000 miles on and not a rattle to be heard. Handling superb for such a large vehicle. Only major quibble is the poor fuel consumption, otherwise all that a BMW should be.

BMW X5 | BMW X5

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
3/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2012
  • 2997cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 5

Very comfortable but bouncy over uneven roads. MPG below expectation. Niggling faults in back bumper and tailgate. Good at speed for long journeys. Very clumsy to manoeuvre especially in car parks

BMW X5 | BMW X5 4.0

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2012
  • 2998cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 5

Bought new 1 year ago only driven 8000 miles. No problems yet , average fuel consumption is 38 miles/gall. Found it great to drive and is a comfortable car.

BMW X5 | BMW X5

Added: 18th of June 2014
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2007
  • 2993cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 5

Just collected - beautiful condition, very well equipped and just what I was looking for. Excellent service from Harrogate Car Company thank you.

BMW X5 | bmw X5

Added: 16th of November 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
1/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2005
  • 3000cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 5

I have had 3 of these vehicles, and prefer them to other 4x4's. They are a very practical all round general purpose suv.

BMW X5 | BMW X5

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2005
  • 3000cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 5

excellent vehicle that is safe and reliable in almost all conditions. Comfortable yet can be an exciting drive.

BMW X5 | my review of my x5

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2003
  • 2997cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 5

for a three liter 4x4 fuel costs are not bad for the size of engine,comfort and visibility is very good.

BMW X5 | my X5 4.6i

Added: 16th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
2/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 1993
  • 4600cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • 4x4
  • 4

very powerful, speedy but difficult to start in cold weather when not driven for few/several days...

BMW X5 | BMW X5M

Added: 18th of November 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2011
  • 4000cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 5

Power,space, comfort and added extras all well up to expectations. Thoroughly recommended.

BMW X5 | My BMW X5

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2011
  • 4000cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 5

Does what you expect of a BMW - comfortable yet practical, easy to drive and use.

Filter BMW X5 Reviews

Related links

AA Cars site uses cookies. If you use our site, we'll assume you are happy with this.