Examples: ford fiesta or mercedes c class diesel automatic

BMW X3 Reviews

Useful links:  235 Used BMW X3 in stock
BMW X3

Welcome to the BMW X3 review page, as you can see this page provides you with all our user generated reviews of BMW X3 cars. AA Cars provide our users with the best feedback on all car makes and models all across the uk to give you the best possible information, to help you make your decision when buying a new used car. We break each vehicle review down into five categories (preformance, running cost, comfort, reliability and space practicality) making it very easy to understand, giving you feedback directly form the vehicle owner. This provides you with all the information you need to make the decision of which car is perfect for you.

Write Review

Key Facts

New Price
£28,965 - £42,895
AA Cars Average
£16,237
MPG
23.3 - 55.4
CO2 (g/km)
135 - 293
Tax Band
E - M
Noise Level
70.0 - 76.0

BMW X3 | Family X3

Added: 18th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2007
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 5

I have returned to 4x4 driving after owning a Range Rover Classic 20 years ago. I have found the X3 to be very pleasurable to drive as it feels closer to a saloon car experience (albeit a bulky one) rather than the 4x4 pitch and roll I remember.
There's easily sufficient space for my family of 3, and 2 dogs, although the dogs miss the lower window levels of our last estate! The performance from the turbo-diesel is very good and economy is adequate from this earlier 150bhp engine.

I have found that the car suffers from stone chips more than any car I've previously owned and I wondered if this colour - Highland Green - was 'soft'. The vehicle has been fitted with roof rails and stainless side-steps. The rails have taken a rack and roofbox easily when needed and the side steps is an extremely good way to protect the car from door dents and chips in car parks as it is the first point of contact for any clumsily opened door.

I like this car a lot - I bought it as I was intending to move towards a long term ownership of a BMW model and I wanted to test the water. This suited me price-wise and in meeting my immediate motoring needs. I will seriously look at replacing it with another (more recent and more efficient/green) X3 rather than the 3 or 5 series I had in mind.

BMW X3 | 320D X3 - A PLEASURE TO DRIVE

Added: 14th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2011
  • 2000cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 5

My first 4x4 after debating between a Ford Kuga and BMW X3. The X3 is very comfortable and easy to drive and holds the road very well. (I found the Kuga's steering a bit too light). Great size, plenty of room inside and in the boot - with or without the back seats down. Having owned 3 previous BMW's I have always found them to be totally reliable, and so far this has not let me down, although I have only had it for a couple of months. I guess it has the same engine as a 320D 3 series as it performs the same - a little bit lacking when pulling away from a standing start, but I guess that is down to it being an automatic. Picks up very well when overtaking though. I think the X3 uses more diesel than my 3 series did, although it is supposed to average 50.4 MPG; as I seem to be filling it up more frequently. Noticed the vehicle swaying a bit when being driven in high wind, which made me slow down a bit. Don't know if this is the same for all SUV's. Decided to get a 4x4 because I hate driving in snow. Yet to find out if it helps or not and I really hope I don't have to lol.

BMW X3 | bmw x3 sport 2 litre.2005.

Added: 15th of March 2015
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2005
  • 1995cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Estate
  • 5

hi
the car was £5100 and was reduced to £4480.i came down to
north wembley from dundee to pick it up.the car mileage is 164000,i am very happy with the car,it drove back to dundee with no problems.there is a few things to put right with the car.the major thing to fix is the panoramic sunroof will have to be repaired,does not work.and all wiper blades
will have to be changed.the sun roof was pointed out to
me when i bought the car.i supose that is why the car was reduced in price.it has very many extras on the car top of the range model.they gave me 3 month warranty with the car
engine and gearbox.

BMW X3 | BMW X3 X-Drive SE

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2011
  • 1998cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 5

The X3 is a fabulous vehicle to both own and drive. The 8-speed auto transmission is a delight and makes this vehicle enjoyable to drive. The handling is far better than could reasonably be expected of a vehicle of this type and the suspension is compliant enough to deal with the uneven roads now too often encountered.
This vehicle is comfortable on long journeys and the interior is finished to a high standard.The engine is refined and provides lively acceleration.
Running costs also seem good with a best in class fuel consumption and reasonable maintenance costs.
Overall - highly recommended.

BMW X3 | New style X3 (2011)

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2011
  • 2000cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 5

I have the new style BMW X3 and it fulfils all my needs, comfort (leather is standard), economic (8 speed auto) and space for most needs especially when touring.
I once made a 240 mile journey in the early hours with only one quarter hr stop and it felt like I had got out of the car driving to work 7 mile away, no aches, cramp or discomfort, my wife & I felt safe and confident with the car, the drive was effortless and a pleasure!

BMW X3 | BMW X3 2.0d

Added: 14th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
3/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2007
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 5

This car is capable and comfortable, and while the boot is shorter than my previous estate the volume is still there. It comfortably carries a family of 3 and 2 dogs and the only quibble is that the older 150bhp engine could provide a bit more economy.

I'll seriously think about replacing it with the post 2010 model which guarantees better fuel consumption, especially when the automatic version is chosen.

BMW X3 | bmw x3 2006

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2006
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 5

Living in a rural area I find the road holding and performance exceptionally good. Running costs although not cheap are pretty good and the car is extremely comfortable for driver and passengers. Overall reliability is good but I have some issues with the accuracy of the on board engine management system to diagnose actual faults.

BMW X3 | Rodent

Added: 16th of November 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2004
  • 2500cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Estate
  • 5

Long lasting durable cross country vehicle, poor fuel consumption but excellent performance and comfort. Plenty of baggage space. After 90,000 miles replaced front brake assemby, drive shafts, differential bearings and air breather assembly, much improved quietness of ride and performance.

BMW X3 | BMW 2.0 diesel

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2012
  • 2000cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 5

This BMW engine has amazing combination of performance and economy - no other car can match to that.
On top of that BMW's fantastic driving experience - in any BMW model - so what else you can ask.

BMW X3 | My Model Review

Added: 13th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 2008
  • 1996cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 5

Although the new model is heavily revised I would not want some of the new features i.e.auto start/stop at lights or electric handbrake. I will hold on to this one for as long as possible!

BMW X3 | Accessibility

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
2/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2012
  • 3000cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 5

Only issue is it is too high from the ground for access for my wife - short legs. Ideally it should be fitted with a step to ease access

BMW X3 | BMW X3

Added: 14th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2012
  • 2000cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 5

Significant improvement on previous version. Much improved fuel consumption (55mpg at 60mph) with better ride, particularly in rear.

BMW X3 | BMW X3

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2004
  • 3000cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • 4x4
  • 5

A very underrated car. Much more practical than a BMW X5 or X6, all the versatility and lower running costs.

BMW X3 | BMW X3

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2013
  • 1800cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 5

A very good car but far too complicated. Virtually nothing is simple

BMW X3 | BMWX3 review

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
2/5
Comfort
2/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 2011
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 5

Very good car , no issues with it apart form high road fund tax .

BMW X3 | Great car

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2010
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 5

No complaints from me brilliant runne.

BMW X3 | the best

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2012
  • 2000cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 5

bmw what more do i need to say

AA Cars site uses cookies. If you use our site, we'll assume you are happy with this.