Examples: ford fiesta or mercedes c class diesel automatic

BMW 525 Reviews

Useful links:  100 Used BMW 525 in stock
BMW 525

Welcome to the BMW 525 review page, as you can see this page provides you with all our user generated reviews of BMW 525 cars. AA Cars provide our users with the best feedback on all car makes and models all across the uk to give you the best possible information, to help you make your decision when buying a new used car. We break each vehicle review down into five categories (preformance, running cost, comfort, reliability and space practicality) making it very easy to understand, giving you feedback directly form the vehicle owner. This provides you with all the information you need to make the decision of which car is perfect for you.

Write Review

Key Facts

New Price
£35,540 - £41,380
AA Cars Average
£10,416
MPG
26.9 - 58.9
CO2 (g/km)
126 - 252
Tax Band
D - L
Noise Level
70.0 - 75.0

BMW 525 | BMW 525i touring auto 2003 150k miles

Added: 11th of October 2016
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2003
  • 2500cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Estate
  • 5

It is not the sports model but the road holding is excellent through the bends . The breaks are superb. The suspension deals well with the poor roads in my area. Long distance trips are a pleasure as it is quiet and comfortable. The fuel consumption is not as good as a more modern car but for the age, size and performance is acceptable. The few parts I have needed have also been reasonable, (avoid the main dealer). I believe it is cheaper to run than a more modern car because it has done most of its depreciating. Friends with more modern cars have had horrendous bills for parts e.g. turbos and high pressure fuel pumps. I expect to have it for a few years yet and would replace it with another without hesitation.

BMW 525 | 525tds touring

Added: 14th of October 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 1993
  • 2498cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Estate
  • 5

I bought this car for £300.00 over 5 years ago. In that time apart from normal servicing ie. oil, filters, tyres and brakes.
I have replaced the rear shocks (which came with the car)and the only problem I have had was a faulty alternator, which I have had rebuilt, and the high pressure pump started leaking which I fixed myself (after all the forums were telling me it was a £700.00 rebuild or a £1500.00 new purchase)!
I still think nothing of taking the car anywhere or sticking a transporter on the tow bar and taking my rally car across to Scotland or England!
All in all an excellent car which is still worth most of the original purchase price over the weighbridge!

BMW 525 | Beast of a BMW

Added: 18th of November 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2013
  • 2000cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • Saloon
  • 4

The car has three modes eco, comfort & sport, so it has the best of all worlds. It is fast & reactive but also extremely economical on fuel & has an economical vehicle license bracket because of the "green" aspects of the vehicle. I'm loving it but it's still very new and I have less than 2000 miles on the clock.
My criticism would be "extras" vs "standard" equipment & although there is more standard equipment than on my previous vehicle (Mercedes 220D) it's still a little niggling having to pay extra for little things such as automatic folding wing mirrors & a fold down back seat (so I can transport my bicycle).

BMW 525 | BMW 525i Review

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2003
  • 2500cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Saloon
  • 4

I have owned the car for 3 years 9 months and do about 8000 miles per year. The only unexpected problem during that time was a noisy front wheel bearing, quite expensive to replace. Otherwise only routine maintenance has been required. Individual service items are carried out as and when required rather than a lot of items at a given time, I am happy withy this as I am retired, it could be more difficult for someone working full time.
I love driving it.

BMW 525 | Bmw luxury

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2005
  • 2500cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • Saloon
  • 4

This is the first BMW I have and it has been a delight to drive and own . Other than a annual service the only expense has been two front tyres in the last 2 years . Plenty of power for rapid and safe overtaking and it cruises at 80 mph with just 2000 revs on the clock . A little heavy on the fuel around town but manages 40-42 on the motorway , but it is 2.5 litre and automatic .

BMW 525 | BMW 525D M Sport

Added: 13th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2006
  • 2500cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • Saloon
  • 4

Fantastic Car, does everything a car should do. Powerful, quiet, comfortable, stylish, handles, stops and is economical.
Drive anywhere in style and comfort with the added safety of a BMW.
I have had many cars over the 41yrs I have been driving but none have been the full package like the BMW is.
Cant see many cars for under £10k S/Hand been better than this.

BMW 525 | Reliability & Cost

Added: 17th of November 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2002
  • 2500cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • Estate
  • 5

Reliability & cost of ownership are probably the most significant qualities I look for. I am prepared to pay a bit above average when I buy a new or replacement car so long as I can look forward to many years of relatively trouble free motoring. I tend to avoid buying a brand new car because of the very high depreciation cost in the first year or so of ownership.

BMW 525 | Das Auto

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2002
  • 2500cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Estate
  • 5

My BMW "Sport" Tourer is the best car I have had since my Citroen 3liter XM. The BMW has given me a few eletrical problemns but she is now ten years old, Road tax is heavy,
as is the petrol consumption if one drives to the car's full potential.

I think the overall look of my old "five" model is much better looking than the ccurrent ones.

BMW 525 | Aging BMW Estate

Added: 14th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2001
  • 2500cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • Estate
  • 5

Bought my first BMW having been loaned one by a friend over a year ago. I find it has all I need in terms of safety, comfort and reasonable economy for a big car - does 35 mpg round town and almost 50 on long runs. Will definitley buy another when this one gives up the ghost.

BMW 525 | 525m sport

Added: 21st of November 2014
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2001
  • 2500cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Saloon
  • 5

Superb all round , it's my first 5 series and I'm very pleased , the only thing I can say against the car is that it is not as fast as the saabs , so next time I'll go for the 535sport . Handling on this car is great an feels lively at motorway speeds for such a heavy car

BMW 525 | Old BMW Estate

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2001
  • 2500cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • Estate
  • 5

Good solid car, with all the features you would expect from a top of the range BMW. Does 37mpg in town and 50 plus on long runs. Draw back is the road tax at £280. Insurance reasonable, all round a lovely car.

BMW 525 | 1991 bmw 525i se auto e34

Added: 18th of November 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 1991
  • 2494cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Saloon
  • 4

heavy on fuel. (145,000 miles)
outstanding performance, especially in sport mode.
extremely comfortable seating front and rear.
bodywork only minor rusting for age.
superb road handling.
very reliable.

BMW 525 | Brilliant family tourer

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 1997
  • 20000cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Estate
  • 5

I have the 2.5TDS tourer! Fab for long journeys, comfortable, spacious and inexpensive to run on distance (45 MPG), yet on smaller runs, when you are up and down the gears, it does about 30 MPG!

BMW 525 | bmw review

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2003
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Estate
  • 5

I know at 71 I should have something smaller and cheaper to run but I enjoy driving and find this just enough fun to compensate for my having to give up my 535 sport which I loved.

BMW 525 | EXCELLENT

Added: 17th of November 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
2/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2000
  • 2500cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Saloon
  • 4

HIGH QUALITY COMFORTABLE AFFORDABLE MOTORING WITH NO DEPRECIATION. 29 MPG OVERALL OVER 65000 MILES IN 4 YEARS. MUCH SMOOTHER THAN DIESEL.

BMW 525 | Good workhorse

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2008
  • 2500cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • Saloon
  • 4

My BMW is a joy to drive and reliable. We maintain it regularly and see no need to change it until repairs get too costly.

BMW 525 | Comfortable ride, reliable, but little style round dashboard

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2006
  • 2500cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • Saloon
  • 4

Comfortable ride, realizable, poor heating system and no style in dash board. Fiddly computer/audio

BMW 525 | LOVE MY BMW

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2003
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Estate
  • 5

LOVELY CAR TO DRIVE AND PRACTICAL WHEN TRANSPORTING EXTRA LUGGAGE ETC.

AA Cars site uses cookies. If you use our site, we'll assume you are happy with this.