Examples: ford fiesta or mercedes c class diesel automatic

BMW 520 Reviews

Useful links:  703 Used BMW 520 in stock
BMW 520

Welcome to the BMW 520 review page, as you can see this page provides you with all our user generated reviews of BMW 520 cars. AA Cars provide our users with the best feedback on all car makes and models all across the uk to give you the best possible information, to help you make your decision when buying a new used car. We break each vehicle review down into five categories (preformance, running cost, comfort, reliability and space practicality) making it very easy to understand, giving you feedback directly form the vehicle owner. This provides you with all the information you need to make the decision of which car is perfect for you.

Write Review

Key Facts

New Price
£30,430 - £40,305
AA Cars Average
£16,156
MPG
26.9 - 62.8
CO2 (g/km)
119 - 250
Tax Band
C - K
Noise Level
69.0 - 75.0

BMW 520 | BMW 520d Blue Performance ED

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2012
  • 1998cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Saloon
  • 4

This car is very well built and extremely well equipped being an ex Olympic car.
The 2 litre diesel is plenty quick enough even without using sport mode.
Extremely comfortable for long distance cruising with lots of cabin space. So far fuel consumption around 49.3 mpg after 4500 miles - the car had only done 68 miles when purchased at 15 months old so it may not be fully run in yet . My last car was a 320ED which averaged 55 mpg over 90k miles but that was a company car and not driven gently. Overall very delighted with the car with only one very minor niggle - the one ( I can only find one) cup holder in the front is difficult to use compared to the ones in the 3 series I had before - I debated whether to mention it but had to find one point to raise.
Best car I have had combining economy with comfort and presence on the road.

BMW 520 | BMW E28 518i

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 1987
  • 1766cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Saloon
  • 4

I have a BMW E28 518i which I purchased just over a year ago, I use this car for most of my journeys to and from my office and at weekends. I have been gradually adding period modifications to the car over the time that I have owned it. It was a standard model when I purchased it, I have added a on board computer, leather interior, newer imperial alloy wheels and tyres, Bluetooth compatible sound system, modern light bulbs and wipers. This car whilst looking like a period car is able to operate with most of todays creature comforts and modifications whilst retaining it's look from my early adult life. I have had a couple of classic BMW's now and still prefer to drive these as opposed to my company car (Audi A4 Avant) or my wife's car (Range Rover Evoque).

BMW 520 | Pure Luxury

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 2012
  • 1997cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Saloon
  • 4

First time I have owned a BMW after a lifetime of "lesser" manufacturers... But I can certainly understand why they are so popular. My car is pure class... Loaded with extras and the only downside is that I now sulk when I have to drive my wife's Mazda!

The one drawback with the 5 series saloon is that for a large car it seems very short on space. It is very uncomfortable for an adult passenger in the middle rear seat, and impossible to get my son's Tuba into the boot because of quite a small aperture.

The trouble is though that the saloon looks so much nicer than the estate...so a bit of a trade off between something that is more aesthetically pleasing and maybe something slightly more practical...

BMW 520 | the ultimate driving machine

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2012
  • 2000cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • Saloon
  • 4

the BMW 520 D is powerful in short and long distance driving. I drove it 2,200 miles to the south of France and back recently and on auto cruise at 80 mph I got 45 miles to the gallon. The boot is massive. It is a true five seater. The seats are very comfortable and it has wonderful smooth driving abilities. the comfort of the controls are spot on plus digital radio is a big plus, retracting wingmirrors upon parking, soft close doors and boot. The electric sunshine roof is wonderful and of course the seat warmers are perfect for the winter or summer as I have a bad back and the warmth of the seat helps. The car is most reliable. it is the ultimate driving machine

BMW 520 | Spacious and Nippy

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2006
  • 1995cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Saloon
  • 4

The car is next to useless in any snow, with it being rear wheel drive. But otherwise I can't fault it. Its very comfortable, has a great driving position and has all mod cons. The boots easily fits a full sized pushchair and all the other luggage necessary for a 2 week trip to France. Its totally reliable and has been over to France 3 times and Northern Irelend 4 times, all without issue. I've changed the fun flats to regular tyres as run flats are a rip off at around £200 a corner and they can't be repaired if you puncture one. I will definitely be having another 520D, overall its an excellent car and I prefer it to my last 3 series.

BMW 520 | My Retirement Car

Added: 11th of October 2016
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2014
  • 1996cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • Saloon
  • 4

I bought this car as a small engined cheap to run car with good carrying capacity It was a cancelled order and I did not choose the specification
I was surprised at how smooth the engine was how fast it was, especially when driven by my son, and how amazingly economical it was
On a long run I regularly get 65mpg. There is plenty of room for my grown up children and always room for an extra piece of luggage in the boot
The car has a long overhang and I rely on the sensors to judge distances
I find it easier to reverse into parking spaces as the mirrors make it easier
The car has been utterly reliable

BMW 520 | BMW 520i

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 1999
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Saloon
  • 4

Old but good looking, comfortable and reliable. Very easy to drive on fast roads and for long periods of driving - very good stability and road holding. Steering rather heavy on turning on short trips at slower speeds but this is made up for by the steadiness of the steering at speed.
Occasional problem with rear light/stop light bulbs failing.
Map pockets on back of front seats have come unstuck with wear.
Otherwise a great old car, but probably requiring a change in the New Year.

BMW 520 | BMW E39 520i

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 2000
  • 2000cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Saloon
  • 4

I have had this car for over 9 years and its comfortable, reliable, great handling but now with higher fuel prices, I am finding the fuel consumption a bit more expensive, hence my desire to change it for its diesel equivalent as this model is now such a classic and sort after by BMW enthusiast. Great all round car, providing you maintain it properly and by a trained BMW mechanic. Happy Motoring Chaps

BMW 520 | Regular Servicing The Key

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 1996
  • 1998cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Saloon
  • 4

My BMW is nearing the 200,000 mile mark and despite the occasional repair (new rad, thermostat & such like)it is still a great and reliable runner.

Providing you can find a good local and reasonably priced repair garage it pays to have your vehicle serviced regularly. Much better than paying the extortionate rates main dealers charge.

BMW 520 | We love our car

Added: 15th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2007
  • 2000cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • Saloon
  • 4

First brand new car we have ever bought. Love it. Stylish, comfortable and just enough gadgets (not too many). Have to account for the cost of using BMW authorised dealers when new due to warranty, they are expensive for the smallest items. Boot is huge. Beware run flat tyres, expensive to replace and not sure they are needed or better.

BMW 520 | Wandering BMW

Added: 13th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2013
  • 1995cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • Estate
  • 5

I have only had this car 3 months (it was a demonstrator) and am very pleased with it.

The only niggle is that you have to concentrate hard when driving on the motorway as it is inclined to wander off the desired path. I haven't yet managed to find out what the problem is, but will pursue this when I have time.

BMW 520 | Really like our car

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2007
  • 2000cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • Saloon
  • 4

We have had since new. No problems. Very spacious and comfortable. Easy to drive. Need to factor in regular maintenance but BMW charges for service items is high so we no longer use them. Have to regularly change oil and brake shoes/pads regardless of mileage so can be annoying when alarm goes off.

BMW 520 | 2009 520d SE Business Edition Saloon

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2009
  • 1998cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Saloon
  • 4

Great value, high specification car - ideally suited for long motorway journeys.

Positives - comfort, boot size, built-in navigation is standard, relatively low running costs, fuel economy / performance balance

Negatives - cost of run-flat tyres, light colour leather seat difficult to keep clean!

BMW 520 | BMW 520 M Tourer

Added: 13th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2013
  • 1998cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • Estate
  • 5

This is my 2nd Tourer and I find it comfortable, practical very reliable and just a joy to drive. Whether it be commuting to work, taking my young son to Triathlon event or ferrying my middle son and his belongings to and from Uni, this car fits the bill perfectly

BMW 520 | BMW520d

Added: 13th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2009
  • 2000cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • Saloon
  • 4

I have driven this car for 4 years and have had no reliability problems and find the fuel efficiency very good.
One irritating issue is that the rear seat does not fold down, which limits the possibility of carrying long items.

BMW 520 | My new BMW 520D SE

Added: 11th of October 2016
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2016
  • 2000cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • Saloon
  • 4

Have only had the car for 10 days, replacing 2015 Mercedes E220D, but already I have noticed how much better it is over bumpy roads, better performance and similar equipment level. Very pleased with my choice so far.

BMW 520 | Great to drive

Added: 14th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
3/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2008
  • 1995cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • Saloon
  • 5

No big news here, 520d is great to drive. Bought the car used. Turbo blew few months later, car about 3 and a half years old. BMW weren't brilliant in dealing to get it fixed. Eventually went about 50/50.

BMW 520 | F11 BMW 520d SE Touring

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2010
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Estate
  • 5

This is the best car I've ever owned - excellent to drive and very practical. I don't find the seats as comfortable as those of my previous E60, but apart from that it is a much better car.

BMW 520 | BMW 5 Series

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 1999
  • 2793cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Saloon
  • 4

It has been a good second hand buy despite being quite expensive to run. Fortunately I do not drive more than 4000 miles annually so the 34mpg I achieve does not hit my pocket too heavily.

BMW 520 | Just love it

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2013
  • 2000cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • Saloon
  • 4

The first executive car I have purchased and I just love every moment of driving it.

Such a smooth ride from the auto gearbox. Very high level of specification.

Filter BMW 520 Reviews

Related links

AA Cars site uses cookies. If you use our site, we'll assume you are happy with this.