Examples: ford fiesta or mercedes c class diesel automatic

BMW 318 Reviews

Useful links:  485 Used BMW 318 in stock
BMW 318

Welcome to the BMW 318 review page, as you can see this page provides you with all our user generated reviews of BMW 318 cars. AA Cars provide our users with the best feedback on all car makes and models all across the uk to give you the best possible information, to help you make your decision when buying a new used car. We break each vehicle review down into five categories (preformance, running cost, comfort, reliability and space practicality) making it very easy to understand, giving you feedback directly form the vehicle owner. This provides you with all the information you need to make the decision of which car is perfect for you.

Write Review

Key Facts

New Price
£23,180 - £37,870
AA Cars Average
£11,254
MPG
30.1 - 62.8
CO2 (g/km)
118 - 224
Tax Band
C - K
Noise Level
68.0 - 74.0

BMW 318 | BMW 3 Series

Added: 14th of October 2013
Performance
2/5
Running Costs
2/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2010
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Saloon
  • 4

Beautifully equipped and stylish looking car. Has a luxury feel, nice to drive and comfortable for long journeys,

Generally reliable but due to the large number of engine and car environment sensors you do get overloaded with messages about time to service, door is open, tyre pressure is low etc etc etc. but I guess they are good safety features so shouldn't complain. But can become annoying for trivial ones and every time you get a new warning light come on it's a mad rush to the handbook to try and find out whats wrong.

The 318 is under powered. Haven't driven a 320 so not sure if there is much of a difference and also the car doesn't like being in the wrong gear. It labours if it is just one gear higher than it should be, can be a bit dangerous if you try to pull away at a roundabout for example.

Not sold on the run-flat tyres. Makes them very expensive and if you get a puncture you can only drive for about 100 miles. This isn't always enough to get you where you are going and if you cant find a dealer with a replacement in stock within that time/distance you have a problem. Imagine if you were on the way to the airport with 200 miles to go! Would prefer a space saver spare to be honest.

The car is useless in even the most light snow/ice conditions. It sat on my drive for 4 days last winter during snow, completely unusable and we live on a flat road.

Running costs for the petrol version aren't good - about 34 to the gallon.

BMW 318 | BMW 318i

Added: 14th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 1998
  • 1900cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Saloon
  • 4

Bought the car for £1,000 fifteen months ago with 100,000 miles on the clock.One or two lights on the dashboard weren't working and the bodywork was a bit scratched, but the interior was in quite tidy condition. I immediately had the oil changed as the car had no service history and.The log book showed about eight previous owners.
I have made several three-hundred-mile motorway trips without any problem and found the car to be very comfortable to drive, and have had no bad feedback from the three passengers who accompanied me.
Overall fuel comsumption is in the region of thirty mpg,the oil level has remained at the half way mark on the dipstick since it was changed.Coolant level needs topping-up
every thousand miles or so, but only by a small amount.
I recently had to change the ATF and filters as she would lock out of first and second gears whilst descending steep hills if I used the brakes. This was quite expenive at £180.
However this shouldn't need doing again for 60,000miles.
I also had to replace a rear suspension bush in order to pass the MOT.
All in all it,s a good comfy car that has a very safe feel to it. Good value for the money I paid, and would certainly buy another, but preferably with service history.

BMW 318 | Love BMW

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2005
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Estate
  • 4

This is my 2nd BMW and I've had it from nearly new (ex BMW managers car, 5K miles). My previous one was also bought nearly new (6K miles) and I kept that nearly 10 years. Sold at 105K miles it still ran beautifully but I wanted an estate as my wife changed her Astra estate for an Audi A3 hatchback. I cleaned and polished it for sale and it still looked new. Both BMW's have been superbly reliable, the 1st one still had the original exhaust as does this one and it's still on its original battery after 8 years. I have it serviced by a local garage who has looked after our cars for many years, he's reliable, inexpensive and won't do anything that's not required ie I trust him. I find BMW service over-priced and twice with the 1st BMW they over-filled the oil so I don't rate their so-called 'highly trained' engineers, I've not used them since. I recently had a wing mirror glass smashed, I took it to my local man, he came straight back with "BMW want £69 for the mirror glass, ridiculous, try the internet". I got one for £23 inc postage. A push-fit it was fixed in seconds. Guess what my next car will be ? Not that I have any plans to change it for a good while yet, only done 64K miles.

BMW 318 | BMW going going and keep going

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 1988
  • 1800cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Saloon
  • 2

I own a BMW 318, bought new from a local BMW dealer and maintained by BMW for most of its life. During the life of this car I have owned other cars so the mileage was really low until I lent it to my son in law, it is still low at 80K and it drives like a new car. MOT's pass each year just checking the lights.
I get about 30 MPG from the car and I am sure if I drove it a little more carefully I would get better mileage. The problem with the world is that I am encouraged to scrap this car because of its age and get a new one to reduce my carbon output. I think that if did that not only would I be mad but so would the rest of the world. the amount of carbon used to produce a new car against the carbon emitted does not compare.
This car is a great little motor car that is really easy to drive and a pleasure to own.

BMW 318 | BMW 318iSE

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2006
  • 1996cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Saloon
  • 4

This is my fifth 3series since 1991, it was more "plastic" than previous models. The ventilation system was so awful I blocked it off, BMW did not want to know about this problem.

Servicing is a problem with different dates for different items (I was used to annual servicing). It had a replacement steering column under guarantee but the engine suffered from numerous oil leaks due to brittle gaskets recently.

Driving is a pleasure especially round towns with the power steering/automatic gearbox. A definite drivers car.

Leather seating comfortable.The rear seat ISOFIX system is fitted inboard making the car only a four seater with one child seat fitted.

Run flat tyres give a hard ride and needed replacing every 20,000 miles

BMW 318 | bmw 318i

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2002
  • 1800cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Saloon
  • 4

An all round comfortable and very reliable moderate sized car with lots of safety features that provides an excellent value for money form of luxury transport.
A pleasure to drive in all conditions.
Easily seats 4 grown adults and can accommodate a fifth altho leg room for this a little tight and would only suggest short journeys for the middle mans comfort.
Would buy again and will always strongly recommend this model.
Good on fuel consumption if driven politely.
Bodywork excellent and remains so even tho its now slightly older than many... no rust and paintwork remains bright and strongly coloured.
Love this car for all the right reasons and find it hard over several years of ownership and use to find anything I can fault

BMW 318 | Consistently high standard

Added: 13th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2008
  • 1950cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Saloon
  • 4

This is my second BMW (bought second hand). The first one, a 1994 316i, is still going with the original engine, gearbox and clutch having done over 200,000 miles. The one I drive now is similarly reliable, doing consistently 45-47 miles per gallon on a 4 day continental drive to Greece, and about 32-35 mpg urban.

It is comfortable enough not to cause kids to whinge on all day drives.

The only problems encountered have been the engine maintenance light mysteriously flicking on then off after about 50 miles, and the computerised stuff going a bit haywire due to presumably a wheel speed indicator fault.

Not mad on the idea of runflats coming as standard. The music system is a bit more basic than some cheaper cars.

BMW 318 | 3 Series BMW 318i

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2008
  • 1995cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Saloon
  • 4

This was bought as an approved used car from the local BMW main agent. It had 19000 miles when purchased and now has 41000 miles on the clock.

We go on longish motoring holidays in this country about 4 or 5 times a year and the drive is always stress free and not tiring. Fuel economy is good for a 2 litre engine at 41 - 43 mpg with the air con in use 100% of the time.

The car is a comfortabe vehicle and very smooth and quiet and has proved to be suitable for all occasions.

Further more we have not experienced and mechanical problems and the servicing costs at the main agent seem reasonable. All in all a good solid and safe car.

BMW 318 | BMW 318i SE

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 1999
  • 1925cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Saloon
  • 4

Taking into consideration the age of my car I have had very little to complain about.... the car has been consistently reliant apart from a couple of flat battery incidents due to weather and faulty heater electrics
I regularly have the car serviced each year and just prior to MOT.
The parking sensors have just failed this year but I can manage without as I have done with earlier cars not fitted with this device..
Member of AA and only had to call them out for Home assistance to spark up flat batteries on 2/3 occasions since 2000

Need to replace car with a higher seating position car due to my age and mobility problems

BMW 318 | BMW 318d SE Touring (2010)

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2010
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Estate
  • 5

Excellent handling from a well balanced chassis. Smooth gearbox & good acceleration. This is the only car I have had in 28 years of motoring that doesn't give me back ache after a long journey. The economy on long journeys is usually around 55mpg; local short journeys about 43mpg quite easily. The only watch out I have had is with the run flat tyres: they need checking for pressure regularly as a loss of pressure will not be seen as the tyre walls stay rigid even with low pressure. Room in the back of the car is OK, but not great. Would definitely have another!

BMW 318 | Still going strong

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2003
  • 1999cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Saloon
  • 4

Best car i've ever had. Its done over 250,000 only recently had the head gasket replaced. Apart from wear and tear and maintenance costs its a dream to drive. It may be old but it still returns an avarage of 40mpg or more at 70mph.
It feels safe to drive in, has enough power when needed and I did not wish to exchange it for a newer model because their engines last approx. 120,000 before they develop problems like oil leaks etc. Their mpg is less (35 typ)if the owner is lucky. So for the time being Im keeping mine.

BMW 318 | BMW 318i

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2001
  • 1987cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Saloon
  • 4

I have just sold my BMW 318i after twelve years of happy and worry free driving. The mileage when I sold it last month was approx. 56,000 miles. The car still had its original battery, exhaust & clutch. The bodywork was completely rust free. It was the perfect car for reliability, comfort and road holding. The only reasons I sold it were the ever increasing road tax (£255 pa) together with high fuel price. I also felt that after 12 years, something expensive may happen at any time!

BMW 318 | BMW 318i SE Saloon

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2002
  • 1995cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Saloon
  • 4

I have had my car for 9 years and it has been a pleasure to drive. However, I am about to sell it very soon as I am trying to reduce my mortgage and selling the car will help pay a little towards that. I won't be driving a car in the future (unless I win the lottery) but there is regular public transport where I live.

A financial prize from the AA would be very helpful at this time!

BMW 318 | Love my Car

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 1996
  • 1900cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Coupe
  • 2

Very reliable. it is now 17 years old and done nearly 150,000 miles and the only thing mechanically that has gone wrong is the water pump broke at 145,000 miles! A few minor things have gone wrong; driver door lock has to be pushed manually, passenger window mechanism doesn't work, but both could be easily fixed if I could be bothered! Great car, great performance, great reliability.

BMW 318 | c mayer

Added: 14th of October 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 1991
  • 1796cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Coupe
  • 2

although not the fastest car in the world this old bmw is fast enough. slightly heavy on petrol but who cares because it is reliable (never let me down in all the years ive had it and i drive it, i dont treat it like it may break)and never needs money spending on it exept for tyres, brakes, exhaust etc. it is also rust free structurally. i feel one of the best cars ever made.

BMW 318 | QUALITY

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2001
  • 1900cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Estate
  • 5

My car is a BMW 318SE tourer, it has done 123k. It has never let me down. Services as per BMW service periods. Only changes to car are: it is on its second battery, same complete exhaust system as fitted, same clutch, only tyres, 3 times, brakes ie, pads & discs changed once. Paintwork immaculate, never had a problem at all, quality build by BMW.

BMW 318 | Early Days Yet

Added: 22nd of October 2014
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
3/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2007
  • 2000cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Saloon
  • 4

Seems to be a nice vehicle but only done a couple of hundred miles so far.Very comfortable but had a little difficulty getting the driving position correct,still not sure if Ive achieved the optimum.Drives very nicely,quiet and reasonable ride but will be able to update this review when I have done more miles and become more used to the car.

BMW 318 | BMW 318d

Added: 16th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
1/5
Space Practicality
2/5
  • 2012
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Saloon
  • 4

Stylish exterior appearance but let down by overcomplicated interior.
The keyless start has not worked on several occasions requiring everything to be offloaded from the boot so that the battery can be disconnected and the key fob recognition systems reset.
I wouldn't recommend this car.

BMW 318 | BMW 3 SERIES

Added: 13th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
2/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2013
  • 2000cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • Saloon
  • 4

Very good car, reliable and good driving experience. Main problem is the design of the front seats, very poor and the actual seat has a support bar which after a short while becomes very uncomfortable, the dealership seems reluctant to sort out the problem, would not buy another one

BMW 318 | BMW Compact SI

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 2001
  • 1800cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

VERY reliable an excellent gearbox in all the years I have owned this car (from new) it has never let me down, only costs were from servicing, MOT and fuel, no repairs or replacements of any component in 50,000 miles. reluctant to change for a newer car.

Filter BMW 318 Reviews

Related links

AA Cars site uses cookies. If you use our site, we'll assume you are happy with this.