Examples: ford fiesta or mercedes c class diesel automatic

BMW 120 Reviews

Useful links:  274 Used BMW 120 in stock
BMW 120

Welcome to the BMW 120 review page, as you can see this page provides you with all our user generated reviews of BMW 120 cars. AA Cars provide our users with the best feedback on all car makes and models all across the uk to give you the best possible information, to help you make your decision when buying a new used car. We break each vehicle review down into five categories (preformance, running cost, comfort, reliability and space practicality) making it very easy to understand, giving you feedback directly form the vehicle owner. This provides you with all the information you need to make the decision of which car is perfect for you.

Write Review

Key Facts

New Price
£23,160 - £27,645
AA Cars Average
£11,705
MPG
35.8 - 64.2
CO2 (g/km)
116 - 190
Tax Band
C - J
Noise Level
68.0 - 75.0

BMW 120 | Hot diesel BMW 1 Series serves up plenty of thrills – Especially the 125d M Sport

Added: 5th of July 2016
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2014
  • 1995cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 5

The BMW 125d is the most powerful diesel version of the BMW 1 Series hatchback yet and is one of the best small family estate cars. It’s desirable, good to drive and surprisingly cheap to run. It has excellent performance, good ride comfort with best infotainment system in the class. The new 125d also averages 57.6mpg, while CO2 emissions of 129g/km put it in the 19% company car tax band; just one band above the 120d. On the ROAD price for the 125d M Sport ranges anywhere between £29,310 to £34,225, depending on the options you select. Efficiency improves to 58.9mpg and 126g/km if you specify the optional eight-speed auto gearbox, as fitted to our test car, although this isn't enough to bump the car into a lower tax band. The 125d comes exclusively in M Sport trim, which brings a range of sporty touches, including 18-inch alloy wheels, sports seats and firmer, sports suspension. The 2.0-litre diesel engine feels strong and flexible in all traffic conditions, while the smooth auto gearbox perfectly compliments it. You can knock the box into a sport mode that makes it kick down earlier, but the engine produces so much torque (332lb ft) that there are few occasions where you would want or need to use this option. Unlike most of its rivals, the 1 Series is rear-wheel drive, and this helps give it excellent balance. It darts into bends and then grips hard, while the steering is well weighted. The firmed-up M Sport suspension also helps agility because it allows little roll in bends. With an enormous 450Nm of maximum torque from just 1,500rpm, though, the 125d always has razor-sharp response and lots of deep-chested urge, which makes it as fast as a petrol hot hatch like the Ford Focus ST. The sports suspension is 10mm lower than standard, and certainly helps put a smile on your face on a twisty road. Thanks to BMW’s Drive Performance Control system, the ride’s not uncomfortable, however. The dash layout is pretty faultless; the instruments are clear and the centre console is easy to navigate. Most of the materials used in the car look smart too. The M Sport trim comes with all the gear you are likely to want, including sports seats, a DAB radio and BMWs slick iDrive system. It also brings a smattering of M Sport badges both in and out the car, plus a chunky leather steering wheel. Should I buy one? Definitely – as the 125d makes some sense as a company car because it combines its strong performance with low emissions.

You can choose from four driving modes, ranging from economy-minded ECO PRO to Comfort, Sport and Sport plus. This means the 125d can be smooth and relaxing one moment, but racy the next.

The thrills don’t come cheap, though. With the £1,490 optional eight-speed auto gearbox – which we’d recommend – the list price reaches almost £30,000. And that’s before you add leather trim or any other options.

Verdict
TBMW 125d M Sport is at the top of the 1 Series range, and feels like it. With a subtly sporty body-kit, incredible performance, great handling and amazing fuel economy, this is a worthy alternative to petrol-engine hot hatches. It does not come cheap though and when you add a few options, you’ll be paying well over £32,000.

BMW 120 | BMW 120d special edition

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2012
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Coupe
  • 2

My first diesel car so it's a bit of a difference having come down from a 3ltr petrol.
Despite this build quality is excellent, consumption not quite the 60 to the gallon claimed by BMW and I have tried believe me, best I can get is 47.8 to the gallon which seems to be my normal that's across a range of driving normally with occasional putting your foot down get past the 40 mile an hour brigade. Performance is quite good, it's smooth, and comfortable. Find it a little road noisier than my old 3 series.
Despite being a coupe it's got good seating and leg room in the back my son is 6,2,and he finds it quite comfy on longish or short trips.
Only fault I can pick with it is the gearing first is literally to get you going and is not good for quick starts as you need to change within seconds (maybe cos I've been used to a more grunty 3 litre m sport petrol. Other than that once your going its fine.

BMW 120 | 1 Year with a BMW Coupe

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
3/5
Space Practicality
2/5
  • 2011
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Coupe
  • 2

Bought a ex demo 120 BMW with service package to 2015
11000 Miles on clock from Cardiff main agents
Sales pitch was we value your custom and pre delivery inspection satisfaction is paramount
Day 1- Sweets under drivers and pass seat, House light bulb in glove compartment, Drivers floor carpet not secured, All wheels not cleaned past spokes, Boot floor mat not fitted.
Week 2- Tyre warning light comes on - check tyres and all are well below settings - week 4 - Tyre warning light on - Both rear tyres below settings
Week 6- Off side rear tyre checked by Newport BMW and split in tyre wall- on Contacting BMW Cardiff unable to get any satisfaction re part payment as over 1 Month since purchase.
Since this had problems with overheating and drivers carpet still not rectified. Suggest Cardiff agent be retrained in what good customer relations means.
Will not be using them in future at any cost.

BMW 120 | Another great BMW

Added: 16th of November 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2012
  • 2000cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • Coupe
  • 2

Downsized to a more efficient model due to the many business miles I do. Very happy, typical BMW, solid, responsive, everything exactly in the right place.

Surprisingly big enough for 3 to 4 people, even on longer journeys.

Getting about 48mpg, but I cannot avoid using the acceleration occasionally ;-) and much better than the 30mpg I got out of my old 528 petrol.

Rides a bit hard due to the sport suspension, especially with all the pot holes near where I live.

BMW 120 | The Baby BMW Hatchback (E87)

Added: 13th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
2/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2005
  • 1995cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 5

I have owned my BMW 120d Hatchback (E87) for nearly a year now. I had bought it as an 'Approved Used' vehicle with relatively low mileage (approx. 38k).
In all honesty I can say that I've found it to be several levels better than the competition in as far as Performance; Comfort; Reliability and Practicality are concerned but, as regards its Running Costs, I'me sad to say that it has proved to be on the expensive side - especially as far as urban driving is concerned!

BMW 120 | My 120D Sport

Added: 13th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2005
  • 1998cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 4

She is over eight years old now, it fitted me 'like a glove' when I went for a test drive 5 years ago and I enjoy driving her as much now as I did when I bought her. She's a lively 'Old Thing' !! Running costs have not been excessive (no more than any other car)and my local garage does most of my servicing that I can't do myself.
A good purchase and long may she keep running :)

BMW 120 | BMW 120d SE

Added: 21st of April 2015
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2005
  • 1995cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 5

Great car. Was surprised by the performance considering it is a diesel. Good on fuel and came with great spec.
Happy with car and seller who was really helpful and promised to keep the car for me to view at a time convenient for me.
Would definately recommed this car to anyone thinking about buying one.

BMW 120 | agile but uncomfy and unreliable

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
2/5
Reliability
1/5
Space Practicality
2/5
  • 2005
  • 2000cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 4

- like driving a cart; limited leg and headspace even for normal sized drivers
- seats provide limited Support
- weak lights
- very weak battery
- quite thirsty with 44mpg
- Turbo blew after 50000 miles only, not enough for a diesel
- performance and agility o.k.

BMW 120 | BMW 1 series msport

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 2008
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 5

A great reliable car. Good performance and no problems with it ever. Smallish boot, but fits a baby's travel system.

BMW 120 | My Beemer

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2006
  • 1995cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 5

I have had this car for two years now, the only problem I've had was coil spring broke.

BMW 120 | bmw 120 se 5 door

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2009
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

practical , decent performance
not planning on changing in the near future

BMW 120 | Nice Car

Added: 11th of June 2014
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
2/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
3/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2006
  • 2000cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

The car was as described, although the mileage had jumped up. Happy, so far.

BMW 120 | 120 m sport

Added: 13th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2007
  • 1998cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 4

in my opinion best bmw ever had

BMW 120 | Perrys high wycombe

Added: 19th of November 2014
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2009
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Convertible
  • 2

Fantastic !!!

AA Cars site uses cookies. If you use our site, we'll assume you are happy with this.