Examples: ford fiesta or mercedes c class diesel automatic

BMW 118 Reviews

Useful links:  640 Used BMW 118 in stock
BMW 118

Welcome to the BMW 118 review page, as you can see this page provides you with all our user generated reviews of BMW 118 cars. AA Cars provide our users with the best feedback on all car makes and models all across the uk to give you the best possible information, to help you make your decision when buying a new used car. We break each vehicle review down into five categories (preformance, running cost, comfort, reliability and space practicality) making it very easy to understand, giving you feedback directly form the vehicle owner. This provides you with all the information you need to make the decision of which car is perfect for you.

Write Review

Key Facts

New Price
£21,670 - £29,280
AA Cars Average
£11,456
MPG
36.2 - 62.8
CO2 (g/km)
118 - 188
Tax Band
C - J
Noise Level
67.0 - 74.0

BMW 118 | Top Quality

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2007
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

Coming from a Fiesta, to an MG ZR 160 to my BMW really shows me the quality of the car compared to the cars I've previously had. I got a good deal off my next door neighbour with 3000 pounds of the price of one at a garage. My first drive in the car was pure bliss, it was quiet, comfortable & just generally better than other cars I'd been in. He car looks great in dark grey with the M-Sport body kit & nice 17 inch alloys. The inside is really nice with comfy seats & a nice looking dash. But the best thing is the ride quality, but with it being one of the cheaper BMWs its a little noisier over rough surfaces but overall quiet & comfortable. The 118i isn't particularly powerful though with about 143bhp but its nippy & never seems to struggle. I get roughly 31mpg with mainly town driving but I don't do lots of miles so its not too bad. The tax sits currently at £125 for the year which in my eyes is pretty good & my insurance is rather low too. Overall I'm very happy with the car & will likely be sticking with BMW for the foreseeable future.

BMW 118 | Quality pays

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2010
  • 2000cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 5

The BMW is a dream to drive with an automatic gearbox that is incredibly smooth. My car has many extras and hs therefore got everything a motorist could possibly want,Sat Nav, Bluetooth, leather heated seats super radio AND 10 DISC CD changer.
Previous to buying this car I had been the owner of 6 Ford Mondeo's over many years.Having had two late models which were unreliable and very heavy on tyres, a change was required.
Main critisms would be ride comfort which is not helped by the terrible road conditions in this area.The boot is a little small but the rear seats fold flat to give a large flat platform when space is required.
As I am disabled I do get concerned that there is no spare wheel so a high speed blow out would result in the need for AA breakdown service to get me to a garage for a new tyre.
My previous cars, Ford Mondeos, were very heavy on tyres needing new front tyres every 12000 miles. My BMW has now completed 21000 miles and still has 4mm of tread on all tyres - whAT A HUGE DIFFERENCE.

BMW 118 | Very good

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 2011
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 3

This was the cheapest car (taking purchase price, fuel, road tax etc into account) capable of towing my caravan, and it has been faultless. Fuel consumption - local short journeys = 48 to 55mpg, long journeys = 60 to 70mpg, towing my caravan = 30 to 37mpg. There have been no problems. My only very small criticisms are 1. When I stop to take a photograph, if I don't remember to switch off the ignition, I can't open the boot to get at my camera, and 2. Sometimes when tilting the driving seat forward to access the rear the seat does not go back to exactly the same position. The only additional accessory I would like, which would improve my hitching up the caravan would be a rear view camera such as fitted to some Toyotas.

BMW 118 | Reliable and solid

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2010
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 5

I have had my 118d for about 6months now having bought it second hand. It's got great spec with the M-Sport kit, updated alloys and more internal extras than I have time to list. It drives brilliantly, if a little bumpy at times but that's what you get for buying a car with sports suspension. The boot and interior space is much bigger than I thought it would be.

The car came with a 5 year service pack which the original owner had purchased with the car. This is transferable from owner to owner and well worth looking out for.

Being a 118d its still nippy for getting to and from work with 140bhp but it falls under the efficient engine scheme so road tax is only £30 a year!

BMW 118 | M sport dream car.

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 2009
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 5

auto stop / start fails on regular basis bumping up fuel cost in town. BMW say battery needs charging. Hard to understand after a 3 hour run?
Car is a dream to drive and was chosen for its smaller size although this is a drawback when packing suitcases.
Power and speed is amazing for a diesel engine.
Run flat tyres at £250 each are a nightmare as they get you
home but garages refuse to repair them even if you drive 10 miles at 30 mph to the repair station. Manufacturers should give explicit advice to tyre centres about repairs- not allow them to rip off customer.

BMW 118 | BMW 118D

Added: 17th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2011
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 3

This was the cheapest car, based on approx 12,000 miles per year over 10 years, taking into account price, mpg, road tax etc., that is capable of safely towing my caravan. So far after nearly 3 years, it has not dissapointed. It does approx 50mpg local, 65 to 70 mpg long distance, and 30 to 35 towing my caravan which is about 75% of the car's kirbweight. It is adequate on size for two adults but it would probably not be suitable for four on long journeys, unless they were below average size.

BMW 118 | Excellent driving experience

Added: 16th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2007
  • 1995cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 3

Like all BMWs the 1 series offers an excellent driving experience. It's a very practical car for a single person or couple. Good performance/acceleration when required but also good fuel economy with the diesel engine. Extremely reliable. This is my third BMW (I previously had 3 Series Compacts) and I will certainly buy another 1 Series.

The only downside ....... you need to work from home if it snows as the with rear-wheel drive is absolutely useless in snow and ice!

BMW 118 | 118d review

Added: 14th of October 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2012
  • 1998cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 4

This is a great car if you dont want the running costs to be too high.
I do wish that I chose something with a little more power though. I had a 120d before this, and I miss having the bit of extra overtaking power that the 120d had.
Other than that, I've been very happy with the car.

My only complaint would be that there is no lumbar support in the sport seats. So on a long journey (I commute for an hour and a half each way) it can get uncomfortable.

BMW 118 | A super small car

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 2008
  • 1998cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 5

The BMW 118d is a really good car. It is excellent to drive,the handling is precise,the performance is acceptable the cost to run it is remarkably low for such a sporty car and it has been 100% reliable. I do find it a little cramped inside and would like more comfort and luggage space. Every time I drive it I always end up thinking what a superb car it is

BMW 118 | Timing chain failure

Added: 4th of August 2015
Performance
1/5
Running Costs
1/5
Comfort
1/5
Reliability
1/5
Space Practicality
1/5
  • 2008
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 5

A common problem with BMW N47 Diesel engines is the timing chains and tensioners are not good enough and when they fail they cause catastrophic damage to the engine. BMW are aware of problem but have not recalled the vehicles. This will ruin your car or leave you with an astronomical repair bill. DO NOT BUY A BMW as they do nothing to help!

BMW 118 | best of German

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2009
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 5

it's a great car spoiled by the cost of run flat tyres £1000 which no tyre workshop will repair
a puncture on so a punture costs £250.Handling is amazing and performance is remarkable for
a diesel. Ideal car for a couple.

BMW 118 | 1 Pegleg

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 2010
  • 1800cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 5

I opted for a deisel for the first time and now wish I had not. It does not perform anything like my previous petrol engined BMW and with the cost difference between petrol and diesel, I am saving very little on running costs.

BMW 118 | Practical and Sporty

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
2/5
  • 2012
  • 1995cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Convertible
  • 2

Good looking 4 seat soft top. Little or no turbulence with hood down and quiet when up. Great handling and ride for a soft top. Good boot space that takes a full set of golf clubs and an electric trolley

BMW 118 | Good but pricey

Added: 16th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2010
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 5

BMW have their eye on engineering but they have slipped badly with their concept of run flat tyres. Having to purchase new tyres every year does not make for low running costs!

BMW 118 | Great Coupe

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2010
  • 1998cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Coupe
  • 2

BMW 118d M Sport Coupe, a car with Style, Performance and Economy. What more could you ask. The ride might be quite firm but it is well worth it for the fantastic handling.

BMW 118 | My car

Added: 16th of November 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2012
  • 1999cc
  • semi-automatic
  • petrol
  • Estate
  • 5

My car is amazing. It has all the qualities I could ask for.
I have owned Mercedes cars , Porch, Jeeps etc. but this is the most versatile and economic car I have ever had

BMW 118 | My best car yet!

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2010
  • 2000cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 5

Very comfortable, very reliable, very easy to drive and has plenty of power there if you need it. I don't know why I never had an automatic before!

BMW 118 | Rear Wheel Drive

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2007
  • 1998cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 3

BMW 1 series - great car, except in the snow and ice when there is no traction at all due to the rear wheel drive.

BMW 118 | Too technical

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 2010
  • 1900cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 3

There are so many computerized sensors on the car that it becomes very expensive to maintain good running order.

BMW 118 | Great car

Added: 11th of October 2016
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2010
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Coupe
  • 2

Reliable stylish and economical. I would recommend the four door if there are kids in the household

Filter BMW 118 Reviews

Related links

AA Cars site uses cookies. If you use our site, we'll assume you are happy with this.