Examples: ford fiesta or mercedes c class diesel automatic

Audi TT Reviews

Useful links:  627 Used Audi TT in stock
Audi TT

Welcome to the Audi TT review page, as you can see this page provides you with all our user generated reviews of Audi TT cars. AA Cars provide our users with the best feedback on all car makes and models all across the uk to give you the best possible information, to help you make your decision when buying a new used car. We break each vehicle review down into five categories (preformance, running cost, comfort, reliability and space practicality) making it very easy to understand, giving you feedback directly form the vehicle owner. This provides you with all the information you need to make the decision of which car is perfect for you.

Write Review

Key Facts

New Price
£24,360 - £33,690
AA Cars Average
£14,070
MPG
19.3 - 53.3
CO2 (g/km)
139 - 350
Tax Band
E - M
Noise Level
71.0 - 75.0

Audi TT | My TT

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2004
  • 1800cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Coupe
  • 3

I have had my 2004 Audi TT for around 4 years. I can safely say it is the best and most reliable car I have ever owned.

For my needs, the car is perfect.

Space
Although there are rear seats, they are not practical to use due to the body shape of the car and the space behind the front seats, but this really isn't an issue to me as I rarely take passengers, and if I do it is only one. The boot space is amazing, loads of room, and the rear seats fold down, making the boot space even bigger.

Comfort
Comfort wise, the car is a real pleasure to drive. Long journeys are effortless. The seats are supportive, and heated for those cold mornings and the driving position is very comfortable. I take the occasional long trip, and it really feels like I am just taking a drive to the local shops.

Looks
The car looks great. I love the shape, and my driving experience starts before I even get into the car, it starts the moment I see it. It is different from other cars on the road that look like they have all come out of the same mould. When these models first came out, they were real head turners. They still turn heads today.

Performance
My TT is the 2 wheel drive 180bhp version, I guess it is the entry level model. However, the engine really does pack a punch when the turbo kicks in. It is more than fast enough for my needs. I would, however, be very interested in trying out one of the 225bhp models, or even the 3.2 V6. That must be a rocket!

Running costs
Between 32-35 mpg, depending on how you drive it, which is ok. I don't use the car a great deal, so the cost doesn't bother me too much. The road tax is pricey though which is obviously due to global warming *yeah, right* but there is little I can do about that. The car is more used for pleasure than anything else, so to me, the cost is worth it.

Down sides?
I suppose there has been the odd occasion when I have had to use the wife's car because there was an extra passenger, but very rarely. It isn't practical if you have a family, that is for sure. Spares can be pricey, but then any premium brand of car is much the same, and to be fair, the car does not go wrong very often.

Summing up
I thought about changing it earlier this year but then thought 'You know what, I have owned some really nice cars in the past, and this is far and away the best I have had, so why change it?' It isn't as if there is anything wrong with it, after all.
I suppose if I could change anything, it would be that I perhaps should have gone for the 225 version, and gone for the 4WD as opposed to the 2WD. That said, the car I have is great, and I am looking forward to my next drive!

Audi TT | Audi TT

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 2004
  • 1800cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Coupe
  • 2

Looks are what this car is about, stunning design with an interior to match.

Front seats space and comfort are good even by modern day standards plenty of head and leg room, however the rear seats have no foot space and are restricted to a 5ft tall person by the sloped hatch back. fine for me as we only use it for the grandchildren.

Steering is very direct and a little heavy, engine wants to race doesn't like rolling around town centres at all.
I chose not to have the s-line version due to the poor roads in my area I also thought the returns of performance made the quarto version un-warranted.
Sound system is the Bose (option) and is excellent but did require an added unit to use blue tooth or other external input.

Cooling is full climate control and is quite effective, with heated seats for winter.

Vision is good looking forward but reversing is another matter with a pretty restricted view from the rear. I felt a rear wiper would have helped a lot and was surprised one was not fitted. Also rear parking sensors are not fitted would have made a big difference to this vehicle.

Seat adjustment is good, however roll on the day when all vehicles come with at least 2 positional electric seats key coded like my sons Mercedes has.

Overall we've been very pleased with the car it's only fault so far has been the wrongly reporting fuel gauge which is common on this vehicle type.

Audi TT | Audi TT 3.2 Quattro

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
2/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 2008
  • 3200cc
  • semi-automatic
  • petrol
  • Coupe
  • 2

Great sounding engine fast and handles great. Six speed auto is also good and has had no problems, car is also reasonably practical for two although back seat is only for transporting small children over short distances, averages around 26 mpg around town and 35 ish on longer journeys if you take it easy don't think you can expect much better for this type of car and 4 wheel drive also makes it a good winter car . Have used it in snow with normal tyres (and was at least as good as my honda crv) apart from obvious lower ground clearance,if snow was very deep. Think it would be even better with proper winter tyres. Mine is fitted with larger optional 19 inch wheels and 255/35 low profile tyres which probably brings my most negative comment as you certainly feel the bumps driving over our many potholes even with the magnetic ride set to comfort. Standard 18 inch may be more compliant on bumpy roads due to higher profile tyres.Build quality is also excellent and full leather adds a touch of luxury. Over all I think it's a great car.

Audi TT | Audi TT Quatro

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2012
  • 1998cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Coupe
  • 2

Comfort and GT performance guaranteed. Grand Tourer rather than Boy Racer machine. More sedate as a diesel but still maintaining the exhaust growl associated with the TT formula.

Comfort for two passengers only. Plenty of luggage space in boot and back seats fold to increase load if required, but have never needed the extra room as boot is more than adequate.

Quatro model steers and grips road surface superbly in dry or wet conditions. Tyres wear more evenly on the Quatro model.
Running costs are more than manageable. Excellent torque and acceleration when required in any gear. Although gear selection with diesel engines needs advanced thought as the torque applied to the wrong gear is enormous and noticeable.

Body shell is light and superbly bolted together. Complete lack of any body noise i.e. creaks and rattles, although slight wind noise around wing mirrors. Choosing the 19inch tyre option will slightly reduce petrol economy because of the extra surface area and will increase noise level.

Audi TT | Great Little Car

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 2007
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Coupe
  • 3

I am 6foot 7inches tall and only tried the TT originally as I doubted that I would fit in but liked the look of them.

I have been very impressed with the car overall and it is surprisingly comfortable. Far better than the cars of my friends, most of which give me backache using them.

Performance is more than you need to drive out of trouble and stability is superb.

Fuel economy is good, particularly for a turbo model.

Down side is the plastic components are poor quality from a durability point of view. I bought the car as 1 year old and the airbox cover on the engine split within a week or two, the package shelf support broke off and the protection plates under the shock absorbers are badly cracked.

I did ask the dealer to replace the airbox but they refused and tell me every service that I need to pay £300 (I think) for a new one.

I would buy one again as they are excellent cars to drive and I guess all cars have a small downside..

Audi TT | Audi TT Quattro

Added: 21st of December 2012
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2003
  • 1800cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Coupe
  • 2

Bought from new in 2003, this is the ultimate value for money performance car. The car felt like it was bullet proof, when you closed the doors you could hear a really nice chunk sound like a safe door closing!

The original shape Audi TT is a classic design and will go down in history as one of the most eye catching car designs ever. The coupe version has the most amazing lines and curves, a truely beautiful car.

Performance wise, the 1.8 litre engine punched well above it's weight and 180bhp was coupled with 4 wheel drive which just left the car planted to the ground. It had acres and acres of grip so you could corner with real confidence.

It is a thirsty motor and insurance and service costs are not cheap (as with any Audi), but residual values and reliability are second to none.

My TT was a Moro blue / silver leather combination and it was such a pleasure to drive.

Audi TT | Audi TT Roadster

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 2004
  • 3200cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Convertible
  • 2

The most important feature of this car is Audi's attention to detail. Previously I owned the turbo-charged 1800cc version of the TT, again, excellent car but there was always the classic turbo lag when accelerating quickly. By swapping to the larger engined non-turbo version I found instant acceleration with overall fuel consumption similar.
I love the gearbox in this machine as, even after some 50+ years of driving, I cannot compete with the smoothness of the automatic gear change. Of course, as the gearbox is automatic, it is not possible to stall the car nor crunch the gears. GREAT!!!
When the time comes to change this car I would expect to replace it with something similar.

Audi TT | 4 Years with an Audi TT

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2009
  • 2000cc
  • semi-automatic
  • petrol
  • Coupe
  • 3

This vehicle constantly exceeds my expectations. It achieves everything from turning heads to carrying my full size bicycle (and even paving slabs!). It has never had a single fault from the day I drove it brand new out of the local Audi dealership. This dealership have been totally committed to excellence throughout the service period.
Is it perfect? Well not quite. There is no spare spacesaver wheel although there is provision and space for one in the boot-well. It is a constant niggle that Audi do not make or approve an after-market provision for this.I have has one puncture which could have been a major crisis were it not that a branch of Kwik Fit were 500 yards away!

Audi TT | Audi TT-S

Added: 14th of August 2014
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 2009
  • 2000cc
  • semi-automatic
  • petrol
  • Coupe
  • 2

Really like this car now. Have upgraded various components so that it now produces 350+ bhp which has helped performance. I traded in a V10 BMW M5 so the little Audi is never going to feel as fast as that but it uses half the fuel & so far has been 100% reliable (unlike the £90k BMW!!)

Practicality is fine if there are only two people travelling, rear seats are for VERY short journeys or little children only. Boot space good though & fits an adult bike in with relative ease.

Overall fuel consumption around 25mpg which for something with reasonable power & 4WD is acceptable to me.

Audi TT | Excelllent Coupe

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 2007
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Coupe
  • 3

I bought my Audi TT about 5 years ago and have found it an absolute joy to drive. Road holding Is superb, performance very good and fuel consumption good.

Seat comfy and it fits me despite being 6 foot 7 tall.

Only down side is the plastic work is fragile and breaks very easy, such as engine air box, package shelf support and the plastic protectors under the rear shocks that shatter over time.

Has 4 seats but rear ones are not really useable by adults.

The excellent quality and overall performance makes up for its short falls.

Audi TT | Audi Tt

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2002
  • 1800cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Coupe
  • 3

The Audi Tt looks great and always attracts attention.It is a reliable car and has never let me down.i found it handles roads well but not icy roads.I do find steering not good for parking I have to make quite a wide turn in.I also feel very safe in my Audi Tt as after a collision with some large deer on my local country road I did not feel impact and braked suddenly and car stayed in position with full impact of two of the deer and minor damage to car but I was safe as car took full impact,I've seen cars wrote off by hitting deer.

Audi TT | Audi TT

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2005
  • 1800cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Coupe
  • 3

Pleasure to drive, very good on MPG on a run (42MPG), recently Terra-cleaned which is marvellous. Transformed the way the car drives, more linear acceleration and cleaner emissions.
Only negative about this car are the amount of dash rattles,
Cure one and another starts. Regarding DAB radio, not impressed with the signal strength in the south west. On a 80miles drive to Andover, a good 70% there is no signal so I resort back to a CD. Expensive head unit and external inductive aerial fitted.

Audi TT | Reliability

Added: 16th of November 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
2/5
  • 2007
  • 3200cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Convertible
  • 2

I know I can always rely on my audi. This is very important to me. I like the power of my car and the soft top gives me choice.. I like the feel of the wind in my hair in the warmer months. On the down side it is an expensive car to run. Very juicy and also in the high car tax range. Surprisingly my insurance is very reasonable, mainly because I have maximum no claim bonus. With the bad weather shortly to be upon us having the four wheel drive is another advantage.

Audi TT | 10 years experience

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
3/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 2004
  • 3200cc
  • semi-automatic
  • petrol
  • Coupe
  • 2

I have owned an Audi 3.2 for 10 years (from new).
It has been main dealer serviced throughout.
It is a pleasure to drive and has been reliable but when a fault has occurred:
1) Electronic control of the engine/gearbox (£2k)
2) Timing Chain failure (too much stretch) (£3K)

These are expensive failures and occurred under 55,000 miles.

Would I buy another one...yes as I love the performance and handling being a 4 wheel drive sports car.

Audi TT | Great Choice for a Sunny Day Car

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2009
  • 1995cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Convertible
  • 2

The 270 bhp 2 litre TTS with the excellent DSG gearbox gives fun driving, effortless overtaking and very efficient progress towards your destination.

Economy is pretty good for a sports car and the four cylinder engine keeps it in the lowest service class.

Boot sufficient for 2 roller (airline locker type) bags plus boots and coats

Sporty seats a little hard for very long journeys but a minor criticism.

Overall a good by for me

Audi TT | Audi TT 3.2 mk 1

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 2004
  • 3200cc
  • semi-automatic
  • petrol
  • Coupe
  • 3

I have had the pleasure of owning my TT for over 7 years. I love the looks and the quality feel of the interior. It is easy to drive and has enough performance with reasonable consumption. It is getting to a point where things are wearing out but so far this has not been too expensive, just rubber bushes etc. and these are easy enough to change. I'm not planning on changing it as I like it too much and cannot justify buying a newer car.

Audi TT | Lovely Car but costly to keep

Added: 18th of November 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
1/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
1/5
  • 2003
  • 1800cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Convertible
  • 2

I love my little sporty number in a beautiful blue,but it is getting increasingly more expensive because of the rising cost of fuel.
It looks beautiful though and I do not want to get rid of it.
People often comment on it and often ask who's car is that when its parked outside my place of work.
I love putting the top down in the summer and feel 10 years younger when I drive it.

Audi TT | Audi TT

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2013
  • 1968cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Coupe
  • 2

I have owned and driven Audi cars for several years and have found the range to be very comfortable, reasonably economical and very reliable. We now drive a diesel TT coupe as the family have flown the nest, and a two plus two meets all of our needs, very comfortable, a pleasure to drive, and with plenty of space for our luggage on our trips away

Audi TT | Audi TT S Line Black Edition Quattro

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
1/5
Running Costs
1/5
Comfort
1/5
Reliability
1/5
Space Practicality
1/5
  • 2013
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Coupe
  • 2

Best car I have ever owned, comfortable, spacious, performance incredible, fantastic reliability however the fuse on the cigarette lighter has gone within 3 months of ownership.
The built in sat nav is not as good as a tom tom. Unable to use the sat nav and cd player at the same time - this is a massive oversight...

Audi TT | Audi TTS

Added: 16th of November 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 2009
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Coupe
  • 2

A superb blend of performance, handling and economy for two people. Ultra reliable and excellent build quality. Should have been fitted with a proper spare wheel and not just a can of goo and compressor. I carry a full spare but lose out on space in the boot accordingly.

Filter Audi TT Reviews

Related links

AA Cars site uses cookies. If you use our site, we'll assume you are happy with this.