Examples: ford fiesta or mercedes c class diesel automatic

Audi A6 Reviews

Audi A6

Welcome to the Audi A6 review page, as you can see this page provides you with all our user generated reviews of Audi A6 cars. AA Cars provide our users with the best feedback on all car makes and models all across the uk to give you the best possible information, to help you make your decision when buying a new used car. We break each vehicle review down into five categories (preformance, running cost, comfort, reliability and space practicality) making it very easy to understand, giving you feedback directly form the vehicle owner. This provides you with all the information you need to make the decision of which car is perfect for you.

Write Review

Key Facts

New Price
£30,810 - £49,195
AA Cars Average
£20,700
MPG
19.3 - 58.9
CO2 (g/km)
129 - 350
Tax Band
D - M
Noise Level
69.0 - 74.0

Audi A6 | Audi A6

Added: 14th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2012
  • 3000cc
  • semi-automatic
  • diesel
  • Saloon
  • 4

Very happy with performance and economy of this A6. Audi have managed to give this latest model more power whilst improving the enonomy.

I love the quattro 4 wheel drive system (have had them for last 20 years); makes the car sure footed and allows the available power to be delivered safely.

Having always driven a manual, the s-tronic gear box took a few days to get used to but it is very smooth and relaxing. The three auto modes lend them well to the different sorts of driving I do. I spend most of the time in economy mode but with a nudge of the stick it switches to sport for a dynamic response.

Lots of space for the familiy and all their stuff and very comfortable for me in the driving seat. Would recommend the A6 to anyone needing a comfortable larger car that handles well.

Audi A6 | Audi a6 2.5 TDi auto - 2001

Added: 16th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2001
  • 2498cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • Saloon
  • 4

I have an old model (2001) Audi A6 diesel automatic, bought used. Needed some engine work when first bought (2008), but has since proved very reliable, very comfortable & easy to drive and a really good motorway cruiser. Used to do about 25,000 miles p.a., until retiring in 2010. Now do a tenth of that p.a., so although not the most economic mpg, fuel is not a major cost factor (nor is insurance, with no-claims bonus and as both car & me are getting on). Annual service is reasonable (use a local garage who know Audi's - not Audi franchises), but costs to get through MOT test are starting to rise; mostly brake pads hardening & suspension dampers (don't drive it enough now). Mileage is 145,000 and all the signs are that the engine would happily do that again !

Audi A6 | Bought for ease

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
2/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
3/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2002
  • 2675cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • Estate
  • 5

After driving all summer in vans and trucks I wanted something comfortable and with out a clutch. We also are a family and often zip off so space was something to consider. The Audi does this with ease. Plenty of space, very comfortable, quick when needed and with cruise control is a dream on the motorways. However our confidence did suffer with the gear box developing a judder (we bought it second hand with near 100,000 on the clock). The judder is a common problem with this particular model of gear box, now re-designed, and once replaced the car runs fine. It is low slung and if you drive in the country you will hear some scrapping sounds but it is mostly mud guard.

Audi A6 | A really Good Workhorse!!

Added: 14th of January 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2011
  • 3000cc
  • semi-automatic
  • diesel
  • Saloon
  • 4

I have recently been offered and taken an Audi A6 as my new company car. Having not had an executive car previously this review is based on a first time experience. It a big old thing, a little practical looking from the outside, but the interior is spacious, inviting and the All Leather seating adds that touch of luxury. Performance wise it isnt as bad as i thought it might be, keeping in efficiency mode keeps my fuel bills relatively light. The occaision boot into sprt mode gives it a real tweak of power for those awkward overtaking moments just when you need it.

Overall its a great car, and does exactly what you need it to do

Audi A6 | Audi A6

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2001
  • 1900cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Estate
  • 5

A Very reliable car all round. Everything seems to work and after 260,000 miles I have had VERY little that needs doing, other than usual maintenance as you would expect. Car requires its 3rd ever clutch now and tyres last about 30,000 a set. Its achiles heel is that I seem to need a new CV joint on the left or right front about once every 2 years and whilst the parts are not outrageously expensive everything seems to be so well put together that there seems to be a lot of labour involved for most jobs. Overall, I love it and with a quick brush up nobody would ever know that it has done well over a quarter of a million miles!

Audi A6 | Audi A6 Le Mans

Added: 16th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2007
  • 2967cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • Saloon
  • 4

Probably the best car I have previously owned (BMW 525 TDS, Jaguar S Type, Rover 820 Vitesse), past cars have been prestige models, but present car is better. High level of comfort leather heated Recaro seats, Bose sound system, satellite nav system, bluetooth. Good entertainement system, water sensitive operated windscreen wipers. High performance, quick acceleration, tiptronic (paddle operated gear change on steering wheel). Four wheel drive in five years never felt in danger on any road condition, including a week in the lakes over winter, travelling in snow and ice, over Kirkstone Pass.

Audi A6 | Audi A6 Avant 2 litre TDI

Added: 16th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2010
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Estate
  • 5

This car replaced our previous A 6 Avant which was still going strong after 337000 miles and was a real work - horse. The new car doesn't feel as robust and is not as economical on fuel as the "official" figures would lead you to believe. Dreading the day when I have to replace the tyres at £ 130 each! What is it with this fashion for low profile tyres!! My wife lives in fear of kerbing the alloys. But it's big and comfortable and does long journeys in comfort, which is really why we bought it.

Audi A6 | Audi A6 Sportline Automatic

Added: 13th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2008
  • 2000cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • Saloon
  • 4

Roomy, comfortable, and well finished both inside and outside.
Performance and economy on a par with other 2.0 diesels of its year, although all German marques in this category made over the last 2/3 years have improved bhp and mpg, and the economy difference between manual and auto boxes has narrowed considerably.
I would buy another A6 rather than a 5 Series or E Class, simply because I know the front wheel drive will pull me through situations (particularly snow) that RWD struggles with.

Audi A6 | Audi A6 avant

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
2/5
  • 2012
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Estate
  • 5

The Audi is a very well engineered car, and it drives very well. BUT it's driver controls are deeply badly designed. As such it drives well, but it is very annoying to the driver. For example on starting the car it turns on the radio (even if off when last driven) but turns off the automatic handbrake- almost every driver would want it the other way. The electronic handbrake is really awful when manoeuvring in a carpark. Why do Audi spoil a good car with truly awful controls.

Audi A6 | Audi RS6 Avant quattro

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2000
  • 2400cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Estate
  • 5

I bought this car when it was 3 years old and have had it for 10 years and the mileage is now about 172,000 miles.
It continues to perform very smoothly and well, and the handling is excellent.
The only downsides are the tendency to be a bit thirsty and the cost of parts when required, but so far the frequency of the latter arising has been reasonably low
I am still in no hurry to replace it, but may do in the event of a useful bit of cash becoming available.

Audi A6 | Great car

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2005
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Saloon
  • 4

It's hard to find fault with the A6. It's extremely comfortable, pretty economical considering its size, very reliable, and very practical. If it has a fault, it is that the engine is probably a bit too small for a car of its size, and the gearing is not designed for steep hills.

The biggest problem is not with the car but with Audi. Having the car serviced by Audi is prohibitively expensive, often charging twice what a local garage would ask.

Audi A6 | first audi

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2006
  • 3197cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Saloon
  • 4

This is the first Audi I have owned. It has been very reliable and with the long service gaps reasonable to maintain.

Have had the car serviced at the garage I bought it from. Servicing has been good but attitude at service desk has varied over the years. Recently there has been a noticeable improvement.

Would recommend the car to anyone who has to travel long distances. I travel 4-5 times a year to visit my daughter in France.

Audi A6 | first audi

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2006
  • 3197cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Saloon
  • 4

This is the first Audi I have owned. It has been very reliable and with the long service gaps reasonable to maintain.

Have had the car serviced at the garage I bought it from. Servicing has been good but attitude at service desk has varied over the years. Recently there has been a noticeable improvement.

Would recommend the car to anyone who has to travel long distances. I travel 4-5 times a year to visit my daughter in France.

Audi A6 | first audi

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2006
  • 3197cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Saloon
  • 4

This is the first Audi I have owned. It has been very reliable and with the long service gaps reasonable to maintain.

Have had the car serviced at the garage I bought it from. Servicing has been good but attitude at service desk has varied over the years. Recently there has been a noticeable improvement.

Would recommend the car to anyone who has to travel long distances. I travel 4-5 times a year to visit my daughter in France.

Audi A6 | first audi

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2006
  • 3197cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Saloon
  • 4

This is the first Audi I have owned. It has been very reliable and with the long service gaps reasonable to maintain.

Have had the car serviced at the garage I bought it from. Servicing has been good but attitude at service desk has varied over the years. Recently there has been a noticeable improvement.

Would recommend the car to anyone who has to travel long distances. I travel 4-5 times a year to visit my daughter in France.

Audi A6 | AUDI A6 Experience

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
3/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2006
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Saloon
  • 5

The car overall is a good car but I have had issues since I bought it.
Major Engine failure for a known problem
The s-line rise can be very stiff during certain weather conditions

Good points,it as ample space for 5 in comfort, if driven with care will average between 32 and 38 on the motorway(steady driving)

Despite this it is the best car I have owned and it comes fully loaded with usable kit (Front and rear sensors)

Audi A6 | Excellent all round car

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2012
  • 2000cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • Saloon
  • 4

This is the third Audi A6 I have had and is the most economical large car I have ever driven.

Comfort levels are excellent, the boot is large enough for two full sets of golf clubs and trolleys without having to put the rear seats down.

Technology pack add on was well worth the extra money giving bigger screen SatNav, full phone integration, excellent dashboard information system and Audi music integration.

Audi A6 | Audi A6 2.5 TDi Auto

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2001
  • 2500cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • Saloon
  • 4

Reliable, comfortable, good long distance cruiser. Needs some work occasionally (not cheap), but them it's pretty old now. Not that fuel efficient on short runs, but surprisingly good long distance. The engine seems to be able to run forever - done 146,000 with only one strip-down major service (engine mounts, timing chain, oil seals). Couldn't afford equivalent modern replacement anyway.

Audi A6 | Audi A6 Avant Quattro

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2000
  • 2500cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Estate
  • 5

The car is a "quattro", something not covered by your questions but makes a substantial difference especially to handling, which is excellent.
Although nearing 170,000 miles it still runs very smoothly and effectively and I am in no hurry to replace it, but because of selling our house I shall probably take the opportunity of having enough extra cash to trade it in for a newer one.

Audi A6 | A6 2000 S/LINE TDI

Added: 13th of October 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2007
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Saloon
  • 4

The car on a 07 plate I have had for over 5 years done 7000 miles when i purchased. The car has now done 271000 and not let me down except when a major part has worn out, have kept the car service and used the car for work every day I just get in and drive except for checks such as oil and water, tyre pressures, space in the boot massive and enough room for 3 adults in the back.

Filter Audi A6 Reviews

Related links

AA Cars site uses cookies. If you use our site, we'll assume you are happy with this.