Examples: ford fiesta or mercedes c class diesel automatic

Audi A3 Reviews

Audi A3

Welcome to the Audi A3 review page, as you can see this page provides you with all our user generated reviews of Audi A3 cars. AA Cars provide our users with the best feedback on all car makes and models all across the uk to give you the best possible information, to help you make your decision when buying a new used car. We break each vehicle review down into five categories (preformance, running cost, comfort, reliability and space practicality) making it very easy to understand, giving you feedback directly form the vehicle owner. This provides you with all the information you need to make the decision of which car is perfect for you.

Write Review

Key Facts

New Price
£19,300 - £26,500
AA Cars Average
£14,256
MPG
26.2 - 74.3
CO2 (g/km)
99 - 259
Tax Band
A - M
Noise Level
68.0 - 75.0

Audi A3 | Great fun and practical for a convertible

Added: 11th of October 2016
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2009
  • 1800cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Convertible
  • 2

I couldn't be more pleased with the A3 Cabriolet. I'm not a petrol-head but I do appreciate the performance of my car. I'm fairly light on the accelerator and there's plenty of torque so I can use higher gears at low speeds (good for fuel efficiency) but if I need change down and put my foot down I get instant and gutsy response. I have had it serviced by Audi (at only about £160 for each 10,000-mile oil-change service), I put decent fuel in it (usually Shell and sometimes V-Power) and have good tyres (Michelin Pilot Sport 4s currently). The soft top goes up or down in about 11 seconds and can be done while driving slowly if necessary. The boot, while a little awkward to access, has plenty of room and the roof doesn't impinge on the space. The S-Line seats in front are quite comfortable, if a little narrow, and I can get 2 adults in the back very easily (not many convertibles I test-drove could do this). Down-sides? I'm just starting to experience electrical issues - the wiring loom in the driver's door hinge is prone to breaking the odd cable causing, in my case, the air-bag light to come on. Easily fixed (if a little fiddly) once I knew where the fault lay. Every so often the brake/ABS warnings light up on the dash like a Christmas tree but turning the engine off and on again resets it OK. Still haven't tracked down this fault but it only happens every 3 months or so and the garage hasn't identified any fault with the braking system so I suspect another, intermittent, electrical issue. I love driving my car - enough said!

Audi A3 | 2013 Audi A3 TFSI Sport

Added: 11th of October 2016
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2013
  • 1400cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 3

Despite only having a 1400cc engine the car is lively and performs well in traffic. The 7 speed automatic gearbox always seems to be in the right gear for the conditions, coupled with a selection of driving modes from economy, which includes a free-wheel facility, through to sport, which holds lower gears until higher engine revs are reached. Fuel economy since the car was bought (11/2013) is 44mpg overall, with over 50mpg achievable on motorways. The servicing intervals are quite generous, depending on usage, around every 18 months, but this is determined by the car's computer. Sport suspension fitted to my car is slightly harder than on the SE model, but is by no means uncomfortable. The car is quite short (4.237m) and is very maneuverable. The car has automatic headlights and screen wipers.

There are a few things which could be better. Rear visibility, in common with many current models, is not great, care being required when reversing in car parks etc. The "creep" speed when in gear and the brakes are released is a little faster than I would like. Access into the rear seats is not particularly easy, and the centre tunnel goes through to the back seat, meaning that anyone in the centre rear seat has to straddle it.

Audi A3 | Audi A3 Sportback Tecknik 1.6

Added: 17th of November 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2009
  • 1600cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Estate
  • 4

Previously had company Audi A6, fantastic car.
On redundancy swapped A6 for new A3 model as above.
Not as swish as A6 and with basic 1.6 engine only five gears, could do with sixth.
Audi finish interior/exterior as good as one expects from Audi and their reputation.
Totally reliable, performance acceptable, fuel economy average, could be better, only about 35 miles per gallon based on computer.
Effortless to drive and comfortable on long journeys. I had cruise control, fog lights and rear parking aid fitted as extras.
Only niggle is after just 4 years the brake disc wear warning system is malfunctioning, the light comes on the dash intermittently and stays there until engine switch off. Web search suggests this is a frequent problem with Audi's looped wire brake wear indicator, the circuit becomes damaged and shorts out causing the warning light to come on in error.
Had this checked at Audi, they lubed everything, it corrected for a while then came back. Quote £276 for new loom! Needless to say did not have done.
Overall excellent car, would recommend and purchase again.

Audi A3 | firm but fair

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2005
  • 1984cc
  • semi-automatic
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

Random thoughts in no particular order: Had an arguement with my insurance company as I said it was automatic and they said it was 'listed' as manual (it has both, with paddle shift). Rarely use manual option or paddles, except if I'm feeling really bored. Rear parking sensors are wonderful, as are the heated seats (two options that came with the car but that I would have ignored). Performance is excellent. Build quality is excellent. Brakes and steering are excellent, sound system is excellent, windscreen wipers are a mystery but spookily telepathic. Ride is hard, probably due to wide (19"?) wheels, and south London speed bumps every 25 yeards. Rear and side visibility could be better and I find parallel parking difficult, even with parking sensors. Fill up with 'premium' fuel but don't know if this is wise or wasteful. My first experience of an Audi (I have owned British, American, German, Japanese, French and Italian): very impressed and would buy Audi again without hesitation.

Audi A3 | 11 year old audi A3 1.8s

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 2002
  • 18000cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 3

i am very happy with this car, the most reliable car i have had, i bought it 2year old with 14k miles and i have had little trouble with it and it has done 85k mils now, our other last car a MB SLK, we traded it in at 3 years old as it had several faults with the electronics these were all repaired free by the dealer but i cant help thinking if we keep this car as long as the A3 it would cost a small fortune when the warranty expires.

it is petrol so the road tax is only going up and fuel cost more than most of the newer cars out now. It has power and good acceleration and has very comfortable seats.It handles very well felling safe at speed. The quality of build is excellent, it still has the original exhaust. Citron will only guarantee an exhaust for one year and i would expect to have to replace a citron exhaust before its first MOT.

Audi A3 | A3 Sport

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2013
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 2

Major improvements over previous version.
Smooth (Sport suspension de-selected) and quiet (even on noisy UK tarmac). Thirstier than Audi would have one believe. Excellent mid-range response when required, and smooth turbo; comfortable cruising (but a little wind noise). Optional B&O sound system is a pleasure, and Audi MMI quite instinctive after very little use. Although I would have preferred the memory card slot to be more accessible (rear of the glovebox is not the ideal location).
Great load-bearer when required (although seat backs do not fold flat).
6 months ownership (and 9,000ml of 90% motorway driving): fuel has settled at +/- 5l per 100km; and the only issue seems to be an increase in wind noise on the driver's side (seal ?).

Audi A3 | Audi A3 Sportback

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2006
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 5

I've had my car from new, for the first four years as my company car then, when I retired, after buying the car from the company. As a senior professional, I could have chosen a large executive model but, as a single man, I did not want nor need a huge vehicle. The Audi fitted the bill perfectly and I spent the money on factory fitted extras. The model is Quattro, S-Line, with xenon lights, Bose speakers, heated leather seats, electric glass sunroof, inbuilt Sat-Nav, 6 change CD, through load etc etc. I love it. It is economical, great performance and still looks good. It will be a sad day when I have to change it (now done over 100,000 miles) as I will not be able to afford the equivalent with all those goodies fitted!

Audi A3 | Great car, safe and fun.

Added: 11th of October 2016
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2010
  • 1968cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 5

Quattro sportback 2l tdi 170ps
Great car and fun to drive yet comfortable.
Surprised at road noise compared to similar size Volvo. With the adaptive Haldex four wheel drive, traction is great but I suspect worsens mpg compared to the front wheel drive sportback. Driven with a featherlight touch on the accelerator pedal have acheived 65mpg over 40 urban. Typically 54mpg.

Consider an engine remap (Audi do not support) to realise the real driveability hiding under the surface of the stock mapping. Need even more care to keep mpg same but much more fun.

Emissions issue - model affected but no recall yet October 2016! Not relevant if you have remapped the engine however.

Audi A3 | Audi A3 1.6 Diesel Cabriolet

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2010
  • 1600cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Convertible
  • 3

This is the best car we have owned
Economical, 60+ mpg from a very responsive 1.6 diesel engine
The heated seats are a bonus & electric windows,mirrors and parking sensors what more could we ask for.
Well there is the electric roof which only takes about 10 seconds to fully retract.
With road tax at £30 per year & insurance group 15 it is a cheap car to run especially as it has stop/start.
Only downside is the light interior, but with the Audi being black it would have been to dark, but saying that have changed the floor mats to black as the others were impossible to keep clean.

Audi A3 | Audi A3 2.0TDi S-Line

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2006
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 5

I've had the car from new (it's now 7 years old) and find it economical to run, very reliable and extremely comfortable.
Its size makes it easy to park, and yet it sits four average size adults comfortably, possibly five although not so comfortably.
On the downside, you wouldn't find it so roomy if you were as tall as Jeremy Clarkson.
The boot is spacious and when you put the back seats down, the capacity of the boot is quite surprising. I've moved my daughter to Uni on several occasions and she doesn't travel light.
I would definitely buy another one again.

Audi A3 | I love my Audi A3 cabriolet!

Added: 14th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2008
  • 1998cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Convertible
  • 2

I bought my A3 cabriolet this summer having owned a Saab 93 convertible for 7 years. I love the responsive handling, even with the diesel engine it is pretty zippy, and the road holding is superb. Fuel consumption is brilliant too. I have the S-Line and the full leather seats are really comfortable. The hood operation is very smooth and quick, no clips or latches, just one button to push, and if I had to make a negative comment at all it would be the crease marks left on the roof after it has been folded down. Having said that, I love my Audi!

Audi A3 | Audi A3- 2 litre Sportback

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2005
  • 1984cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Saloon
  • 5

Superb build quality and basically pretty reliable. Somewhat expensive maintenance and repair costs from main dealer, but more reasonable from a trusted local firm. Fairly low mileage at about 8000 miles per annum. Have had the vehicle 5 years and have never regretted it. Will probably replace within 2 to 3 years with the current A3 model or possibly an A1.

I purchased the car from a main dealer in 2008 when it was 3 years old. Performance is well adequate for my requirements.

Audi A3 | Satisfaction guaranteed

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 1999
  • 1596cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 3

I have had my car for 5 and a half years. Never had any major issue with the car except changing tyres, battery and other normal equipments.
The only biggish thing that I had to change were the front spring coils for the suspension.
I am really satisfied with the reliability of my car given I do on average more than 13000 miles per year.
The only minus is the running costs which can cost quite a bit with it being a petrol engine and maintainance can cost above average.

Audi A3 | Lively and fun, some minor drawbacks

Added: 11th of October 2016
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 2013
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Coupe
  • 5

Surprisingly fast and agile for a small engine, fun to drive and reliable. Running costs terrific compared to my last car. Boot is a bit on the small side though, limited storage in the cabin, small glove-box. Only one power point in the whole vehicle, necessitating a bulky and inconvenient splitter device if I want to charge my phone and operate my Satnav at the same time. Not the best-looking vehicle, a bit "ordinary".

Audi A3 | Audi A3 Convertible

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2012
  • 1200cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Convertible
  • 2

I traded in my Audi TT last year. Mainly due to its age; 10 years and nearly 100,000 miles. Also, I had retired and needed a car that would transport my small dog. I usually have the back two seats folded flat and the dog enters the car through the boot. We both love it and, so far, like its predecessor, the car has proved both reliable and comfortable. Most of all, the support of the Audi garage in Five Oaks is superb.

Audi A3 | Disappointed Audi owner

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2013
  • 1998cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Convertible
  • 2

Audi A3 sport convertible- very disappointed in performance. Poor acceleration. Arm rest restricts access to hand break. Reasonable fuel consumption.

Had to have roof replaced at less than 6 months old. Because of poor performance and problem with roof investigated replacing but despite sales pitch appears poor retention of re sale value. Decreased in value by over £15000 at less than 6 months old

Audi A3 | A3 good for allsorts

Added: 14th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2006
  • 1998cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 3

Generally good reliable car, though drive chain going at 50,000 miles was unexpected, but according to the garage not unusual. Good load space in boot, excellent when back seats are down. Comfortable ride for front seat passengers, though leg room in back can be a little cramped if seats are back even half way.
Economic on motorway runs, and reasonabel around town.

Brilliant turning circle!

Audi A3 | A3 Quattro Turbo

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
3/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2002
  • 1900cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 3

I have owned this car for 6 years now, and it has been very reliable although with it's age maintenance is becoming increasingly expensive. When driven carefully I can get 400 miles from a tank of petrol, but if I drive faster, and she does tramp when required, the economy suffers. I would recommend this car as a great handling car, safe in snow and in less than ideal driving conditions.

Audi A3 | Audi A3 sportback

Added: 16th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
3/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2005
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Estate
  • 5

Very comfortable practical family car .Diesel version very economical although car has had some unreliability issues in the 10 years plus which I have owned, namely coolant problems relating to burst radiator and oil cooler both components that you would expect to see more life from and an apparent common problem with Audi that you would expect a recall on these components.

Audi A3 | A3 1.6 - a bit underpowered

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
2/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2007
  • 1600cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

I don't do a lot of driving and my Audi A3 meets my needs for local errands and occasionally longer trips. Has a comfortable smooth ride and good music system. With the 1.6 engine it struggles to get up hills when heavily loaded and I need to be cautious when overtaking because of the lack of power. I hope this this compensated for by being more economical to run.

Filter Audi A3 Reviews

Related links

AA Cars site uses cookies. If you use our site, we'll assume you are happy with this.