Examples: ford fiesta or mercedes c class diesel automatic

Audi A1 Reviews

Audi A1

Welcome to the Audi A1 review page, as you can see this page provides you with all our user generated reviews of Audi A1 cars. AA Cars provide our users with the best feedback on all car makes and models all across the uk to give you the best possible information, to help you make your decision when buying a new used car. We break each vehicle review down into five categories (preformance, running cost, comfort, reliability and space practicality) making it very easy to understand, giving you feedback directly form the vehicle owner. This provides you with all the information you need to make the decision of which car is perfect for you.

Write Review

Key Facts

New Price
£13,640 - £22,810
AA Cars Average
£13,149
MPG
32.8 - 74.3
CO2 (g/km)
99 - 152
Tax Band
A - G
Noise Level
71.0 - 74.0

Audi A1 | I expected a great car from the VW/Audi stable, and i have not been disappointed

Added: 19th of February 2016
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2015
  • 1599cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 2

Ive had my A1 Sport TDi for nearly a year, and it has been eleven thousand trouble free miles.

The Sports suspension suits the driving experience and comfort of the car, not too firm, but offering comfort and great road holding, with my optional 17in alloy wheels.

My previous vehicles have all been Volkswagens, and had intended buying a new Polo 1.4TDI Bluemotion, but was eventually told the model would be cancelled and not brought to the Uk afer all.

The A1 was the logical step, being a Polo but in much finer clothing.

My car has been magnificent, totally trouble free, and returning well over 70mpg on those longer motorway journey's.

I had fitted in the factory, a beautiful fully electric glass sunroof, as well as cruise control and Climatic A/C.

The car is beautiful to drive and incredibly well screwed together.

Its my first experience of Audi ownership, and every has been extremely posotive.

I love my A1, and i hope to continue driving it for some years yet.

Audi A1 | Great car spoilt by lack of noise insulation

Added: 13th of August 2015
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2012
  • 1600cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 5

For a downsizing pensioner this car ticks all boxes bar one - the noticeable and annoying rattly noise of the diesel engine in the cabin at low speeds. I can only think that this is due to lack of decent sound insulation/need for weight reduction. At high speeds however the engine sounds smooth and is responsive. My model is SE with 15" wheels and whilst the ride is far from limo quality it is still acceptable. Acceleration is surprisingly good and average overall fuel consumption is just a tad under 50mpg which I am very pleased with (over three years). The cabin is fairly roomy and with the back seats folded I can transport a bike with the front wheel dropped out. I am pleased I invested in a few extras, heated folding mirrors, parking sensors, drivers info panel and space saver spare tyre. I would buy another A1 but may opt for the petrol model (and pay road tax) just to avoid the annoying diesel noise

Audi A1 | My Audi A1 Sportback

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2012
  • 1598cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 5

I have lots of extras and overall am happy with the car however I am very unhappy with Audi. I purchased a service plan and over a year since I collected the car I still, despite many requests have nothing in writing. My few dealings with the parts department have also been disappointing.

Although the car is small the hatchback makes it versatile and it can carry an amazing amount. I am averaging over 50 miles to the gallon and this is for mainly short journeys. The suspension is a bit stiff especially with the proliferation of speed bumps. Even with all the extras I purchased the overall comfort still suffers from "small car syndrome". Most manufacturers seem to think people with small cars don't want the same comfort as owners of big cars. I want a small, luxurious car. This car almost does it.

Audi A1 | A1,all about the tax!

Added: 13th of October 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2012
  • 1600cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 5

The A1is compact and in the s-line trim a little on the bumpy side of comfy!

Would recommend to anyone looking for a compact and economical car but be mindful of the missing 'extras' like heated door mirrors that (well to me) have become standard stuff to many manufacturers!

In the diesel variant the A1 is also a little heavy on engine noise, I think more down to the absence of sound deadening rather than a particularly noisy engine.

Overall though a joy to own and drive.

Audi A1 | AUDI A1 1.4TSFI

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 2011
  • 1400cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 3

GOOD,ECONOMICAL,RELIABLE CAR TO RUN. SERVICE INTERVALS LONG AND SERVICE COSTS REASONABLE. AVERAGES ABOUT 50m.p.g. WITH START/STOP FUNCTION. DRIVES WELL ENOUGH THOUGH YOU TEND TO FEEL THE BUMPS.

ONLY ONE PROBLEM: NO SPARE WHEEL, SO IF YOU GET A PUNCTURE YOU ARE STUCK WITHOUT A CAR FOR A WHILE AND IT'S £155 FOR A NEW TYRE.

SMALL BOOT BUT WILL TAKE QUITE LARGE ITEMS (e.g. MOWER,SHREDDER,STRIMMER) WHEN THE BACK SEATS ARE LOWERED.

Audi A1 | Audi A1 S Line

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2012
  • 1400cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 3

I am nearly 70 and have just traded in my 15 year old Toyota Avensis.

I wasn't looking for a sporty type car but when I tried the Audi I was smitten. Super acceleration and economy more than acceptable when compared to my previous car and the Honda CRV which is owned by my wife.

Only really suitable for driver plus one but that is all I need.

Much admired vehicle by friends and neighbours.

Audi A1 | Compact but ideal for town

Added: 16th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 2012
  • 1600cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 5

The A1 is a great choice for tax efficient driving around town.

Whilst not terrible on long journeys, in the s-line certainly, it becomes a little tiresome on longer journeys. It retains Audi's signature solid build quality but simply cannot match it's larger relatives for comfort and noise levels.

Around town and on shorter trips on A and B roads it a lively, fun and nippy little car.

Audi A1 | Audi A1

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 2012
  • 1600cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 2

Have been very pleased with my Audi A1 purchased new in March 2012. Great looks and performance. Reliable and economical to run. Car used mainly for short commute to work and weekend trips out. A little low at back for adult passengers, but fine for my 5 year old grand-daughter who is a regular passenger.

I would definitely buy another A1 when this one is three years old.

Audi A1 | Love my car

Added: 13th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2011
  • 1200cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 2

The Audi A1 is a great small car, very economical to run and comfortable. It is a solid little car, very comfortable and feels safe and reliable. When I bought mine they did not do a 5 door version but they do now and this would be more practical and is probably what I will go for when I decide to change.

The aftercare service I get from my Audi dealer is excellent.

Audi A1 | My Lovely Brand New Audi A1 S Line 1.6 TDI

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2013
  • 1600cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 3

This is the first brand new car I have ever had and I could not refuse the deal Audi were doing on it. It was my daughter who had seen the deal and told me about it and she is waiting to take delivery of the same model when it comes off the production line in the first 2 weeks in December.
It is as the name says, A1 and is superb in very way. Nice one Audi and thanks.

Audi A1 | A1 2 door

Added: 13th of October 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
3/5
Space Practicality
2/5
  • 2012
  • 1600cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 2

Generally, reasonably comfortable and economical car, but 2 door is a bad choice - very difficult to get in and out making it essentially a 2 seater.
Audi service interval is a plus (19K miles), but service staff are arrogant and patronising - don't bother to report an intermittent fault as, of course, it's you the driver not the car!

Audi A1 | Excellent but flawed

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2012
  • 1400cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

An excellent city car with exceptional build quality, well designed and engineered. Performance is very good for the size of engine but fuel economy is poor.The biggest failing is the ride quality which is extremely poor. In towns with poor road surfaces the ride is unpleasant and makes the car feel uncomfortable.

Audi A1 | Audi A1 Sports

Added: 16th of November 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2011
  • 1390cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 2

I simply love my 2 year old A1 but it would not have been so practical for me when I was younger with three children, school trips, extra luggage, shopping etc. Now, as a retired lady who does about 8 - 10,000 miles only per annum it is ideal - quick, neat, reliable, economical and very smart.

Audi A1 | Audi A1 1.2 TFSI Sports

Added: 16th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2012
  • 1200cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

Having downsized from an Audi A3 I have been very impressed with the fuel economy, comfort, ease of handling and overall performance of this smaller car.

Audi A1 | Audi A1

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2011
  • 1400cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 2

Have been pleased with car so far, after a mini it seems quite spacious!
Would buy another but next time with a sun roof and possibly 4 doors.

Audi A1 | contentment

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 2011
  • 1400cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 3

small car,ideal for two,not much luggage room with back seat up.fast,nippy(have 1400 tfsi sport),bells and whistles expensive,but satisfied.

Audi A1 | Super car

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2011
  • 1200cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 3

A super little car, cheap to run and practical. My only regret is that when I bought it there wasn't a 5-door version available.

Audi A1 | AUDI A1

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2013
  • 1400cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 4

Economical and comfortable to drive.A1 1.4 TFSI 185 BHP excellent acceleration when needed.

Audi A1 | A1 1.4 tsi sport

Added: 17th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 2011
  • 1395cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 2

Very satisfied with performance,level of comfort, petrol consumption.
Boot space limited

Audi A1 | Seat belt

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2012
  • 1600cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 2

Seat belt height is not adjustable, so often ride up across my neck so not very safe.

Filter Audi A1 Reviews

Related links

AA Cars site uses cookies. If you use our site, we'll assume you are happy with this.