Examples: ford fiesta or mercedes c class diesel automatic

Alfa Romeo 156 Reviews

Alfa Romeo 156

Welcome to the Alfa Romeo 156 review page, as you can see this page provides you with all our user generated reviews of Alfa Romeo 156 cars. AA Cars provide our users with the best feedback on all car makes and models all across the uk to give you the best possible information, to help you make your decision when buying a new used car. We break each vehicle review down into five categories (preformance, running cost, comfort, reliability and space practicality) making it very easy to understand, giving you feedback directly form the vehicle owner. This provides you with all the information you need to make the decision of which car is perfect for you.

Write Review

Key Facts

New Price
-
AA Cars Average
£1,985
MPG
23.0 - 48.7
CO2 (g/km)
155 - 293
Tax Band
G - K
Noise Level
71.0 - 74.5

Alfa Romeo 156 | Alfa Romeo 156 GTA

Added: 13th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
3/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2003
  • 3200cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Saloon
  • 4

Bought 2nd hand at 5 years old for £8,700. Car is over 10 years old now but still going well after avoidable expensive late middle aged maintenance spell. Good fun to drive and be driven in, lots of character. Four door family saloon that can overtake quickly and safely better than some sports cars and GTIs and also have granny & wheel chair on board. Mpg 25-42, average 28 with short journeys around hilly village. Alfa dealer not thorough with a main service which resulted in problems above so now use local specialists. Used every day for work commute and general use.
If Alfa Romeo made a new GTA successor saloon with light carbon fibre body technology as per their recent 4C and with modern more economical V6 I'd buy it.

Alfa Romeo 156 | Alfa 156

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2005
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Saloon
  • 4

this is my third Alfa romeo and second 156. It is a superb car to drive, it is comfortable on long journeys, handles and performs well and is still one of the best looking cars available
Alfa Romeos need to be maintained properly to ensure continued reliability and this can be expensive. The suspension does not cope well with the poor quality of our roads and the sump is prone to damage with speed humps and pot holes. I have replaced the suspension twice in 8 years. A cam belt replacement is required every 5 yrs 36,000 miles.
Depreciation is a probem, with PX valuations even by alfa dealers almost insultingly low. However if properly maintained these thoroughbreds will give many years of service.

Alfa Romeo 156 | Best car I ever had

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 2000
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Saloon
  • 4

I bought this brand new in 2000 - loved the look and feel but a bit of trepidation with the general reputation of Alfas. From then till now it brings a smile to my face whenever I drive it. with nearly 120,000 miles on the clock and 13 years old it has never missed a beat and apart from a sunvisor and door hinge has needed nothing more than service items. Motorway runs at around 70mph gets a whisker under 40mpg which I don't think is bad for an old petrol car. Great fun on bendy roads and exhilirating when you put your foot down, if not the fastest straight line car. Lovely comfortable and supportive seat and sweet engine. And still looks great.
I just hope that the impending Giulia is as fun...

Alfa Romeo 156 | Alfa's Sportswagon

Added: 17th of November 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2003
  • 1600cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Estate
  • 5

This car has been very reliable. Main downside is road tax costs but this is not the cars fault. Engine is excellent with a nice throaty purr as you expect from a twin spark. Very comfy to drive over long distances. Still not too sure of the climate control yet. Plenty of room especially with the rear seats put down. Need small hands to change headlight bulb. Probably 'likes the petrol' against other similar sized cars but performance is probably better. Overall very happy with this vehicle and will be sorry to see it go when the time comes.

Alfa Romeo 156 | 156 2.0JTS Veloce

Added: 13th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2003
  • 1998cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Saloon
  • 4

I have owned my Alfa Romeo 156 2.0 Veloce (Facelifted Model) for the last 7 years.

The performance is incredible for a normally-aspirated two litre motor. The steering is precise & the road-holding great, thanks to the firm sports suspension.

The extremely attractive well-finished bodywork further benefits by being 100% galvanised!

The car has been completely reliable...I`ve just had to replace a couple of lambda sensors in the exhaust-monitoring system.

Alfa Romeo 156 | Alfa 156 Sportwagon 2.0 TS

Added: 15th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2000
  • 1990cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Estate
  • 4

The car's performance is very good, although the (excellent) gearbox has to be used freely to get the most from it. The ride and handling compromise is also very good and the fuel consumption reasonable (average 33 mpg). Minor quibbles are the poor turning circle and the lack of an exterior handle with which to raise the tailgate. Reliability is also good, provided servicing is carried out regularly by an Alfa specialist.

Alfa Romeo 156 | Alfa 156

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2005
  • 1900cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Saloon
  • 4

I've had the car for several years now and after sorting out problems left by the previous owner have not experienced any further problems. I have it serviced by a local garage which specialises in Alfas and they do a superb job. I change the oil and oil filter twice a year and I am currently getting over 50mpg around town and up to 70mpg on motorway and similar journeys.
A lovely car to drive.

Alfa Romeo 156 | 2.4JTD MULTIJET VELOCE

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2005
  • 2400cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Saloon
  • 4

Having driven various cars from a mini to high powered sports cars and limousines, I find my car fulfils my every day need without breaking the bank! And this is my second AR.
The economy will have to change significantly for me to consider a change and then maybe it will be a sport wagon for the benefit of my three grand daughters!

Alfa Romeo 156 | My Alpha

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2000
  • 1600cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Saloon
  • 4

I have owned and driven this car since 2002 and have been very pleased with the style, performance and comfort but, with over 100,000 miles on the clock, it is now begining to lose performance and an increase in runnlng costs makes me consider in buying another car but I do not know exactly the make or model.

Alfa Romeo 156 | Overall pretty good

Added: 13th of October 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
3/5
Space Practicality
2/5
  • 2000
  • 1600cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Saloon
  • 4

Owned since new our 156 is now 13 yrs old and 100k miles. Has been generally reliable but now showing its age and due for replacement! Has proved better than Alfa reputation for build quality.
Not up to German standards though.
Harsh ride and not very practice.

Alfa Romeo 156 | Alfa ~Romeo 156

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2002
  • 1800cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Saloon
  • 4

superb car that I will keep until it drops, suprisingly economical for its type (36mpg) great looking, and paintwork etc like new,
very reliable compared with Audi, VW, Peugot, that I have owned.
underated due to problems in the past with the make...

Alfa Romeo 156 | One and a half thumbs up

Added: 14th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
3/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 2003
  • 1200cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Estate
  • 4

It has been a good, well engineered car, though it is now approaching the end of its working life. Our onnly real complaint has been that the turning radius is too large.

Alfa Romeo 156 | Alfa 156

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2005
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Saloon
  • 4

An attractive well designed car that has a lot of flair. Reliable when maintained properly and far more fun to drive than most cars on the market.

Alfa Romeo 156 | Alfa 156

Added: 16th of November 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 2000
  • 1800cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Saloon
  • 4

One of the best cars I have ever owned. Still looks good even at 13 years old. Wish I had the 2.5 or 3.2 litre for extra performance.

Alfa Romeo 156 | MY CAR

Added: 13th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2003
  • 1800cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Saloon
  • 4

My car is the best car I have owned. It is comfortable, safe, reliable and fun to drive

AA Cars site uses cookies. If you use our site, we'll assume you are happy with this.